May 2, 2012 GBM


Published on

First, we nominated members for the club representative position. Claudine and Curt both got nominated and ran, and we are happy to announce Claudine as our new club rep!

Next, James talked about some thoughts he had for the website for the next coming year. Any thoughts you have on the weather forum or any other basic website ideas please send an email to James! (

After, Torry talked about his goals for the club he has for next year; he hopes to help minimize confusion for all by setting a date for due to be handed in by; this will be 30 days after the start of the school year. Also, there will also be a due date for NESC payments. Any questions or comments feel free to send Torry an email! (

Throughout the whole meeting we discussed different options for potential speakers at next years NESC. Just to quick idea, Bill Nye, Steve Lyons and many others were presented as options. You can see the full list on the minutes that will be posted on the website soon and send any ideas to any executive board members.

Finally, Kayla has an opportunity to go have a talk with a group of second graders next Friday! Email her for details. (

DON'T FORGET*** AMS BBQ! This Sunday 11-3PM outside the student center! All are welcome.

Published in: Education, Technology
  • Be the first to comment

  • Be the first to like this

No Downloads
Total views
On SlideShare
From Embeds
Number of Embeds
Embeds 0
No embeds

No notes for slide

May 2, 2012 GBM

  1. 1. Lyndon State College AMS/NWA May 2nd GBM
  2. 2. President Jeb Postle Election/Nomination for Club Faculty committee position Potential Speakers
  3. 3. Bill Nye (The Science Guy) Hosted an education television program from 1993 through 1998. Teaches science in a way that is fun and exciting to learn.
  4. 4. Danielle Niles Broadcast Meteorologist weekday mornings at NECN station. She is a graduate at UMass Lowell and attended graduate school at Florida State University.
  5. 5. Max Mayfield (Former Hurricane Specialist) - Began his career in the air force in 1970. He is a graduate at University of Oklahoma with a bachelors degree in mathematics. He is most well known for his involvement as a hurricane specialist and director of the National Hurricane Center in January 2000.
  6. 6. Vice President James Sinko Forum Thoughts? Thoughts on the Website? Potential Speakers
  7. 7. Todd Gutner - WBZ TV BS - SUNY Oneonta Todd Gutner is the evening (5PM, 6PM and 11PM) meteorologist for WBZ-TV News in Boston. WCSH-TV,WLBZ-TV, WPXT-TV > Portland, ME KGO-TV > San Francisco, CA
  8. 8. Dr. Steve Lyons Meteorologist in Charge - NWS San Angelo, TX Former Weather Channel Hurricane Expert B.S., M.S. and Ph.D. in Meteorology, University of Hawaii
  9. 9. Secretary Matt Davey Potential Speakers
  10. 10. Tony Petraca He is a graduate of Toll Gate High School and Lyndon State College in Lyndonville, Vermont with a B.S Degree in Meteorology Tony joined WPRI-TV in March of 1987 and has over 20 years experience studying and forecasting New England weather. He has also won the Associated Press Award for "Best Weathercast" in 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005 and 2006.
  11. 11. Steve Bennett Stephen (Steve) Bennett, J.D. is a founding partner and Chief Science and Products Officer for EarthRisk Technologies. Steve has been a meteorologist since 1995, forecasting the weather and applying weather research for financial investing and media applications. He completed his undergraduate meteorology degree from the University of South Alabama and graduated Magna Cum Laude from the John Marshall Law School in 2008. He is currently the chairman of the American Meteorological Societys Energy Committee on the AMS Board for Enterprise and Economic Development and Commission for the Weather and Climate Enterprise.
  12. 12. Treasurer Torry Gaucher My goals for next year. SGA Representitive Suggestions on how to do my job better than I did this year? Potential Speakers
  13. 13. Tim Marshall Tim Marshall- is an American civil engineer and meteorologist concentrating on damage analysis, particularly that from wind and other weather phenomena. He is also a pioneering storm chaser and was editor of Storm Track magazine.
  14. 14. Paul J. Gaynor Chief Executive Officer Paul J. Gaynor, CEO, is responsible for the strategic direction and overall management of First Wind. Mr. Gaynor has more than 20 years of experience in the energy field, encompassing leadership and finance roles in the energy, power, and pipeline sectors. In addition, he has been engaged in several landmark energy and power financings across the globe. Education and Credentials: Master of Business Administration, University of Chicago Graduate School of Business Bachelor of Science, Mechanical Engineering, Worcester Polytechnic Institute
  15. 15. Public Relations Amanda Curran Spring BBQ Potential Speakers
  16. 16. Kevin Skarupa Meteorologist, Kevin Skarupa, can be seen weekdays from 5 to 7 a.m. on News 9 Daybreak with Erin Fehlau and Sean McDonald, then on News 9 in New Hampshire. Kevin earned a meteorology degree from Lyndon State College in Vermont and currently holds both the AMS Television Seal of Approval and the Certified Broadcast Meteorologist seal.
  17. 17. Dr. Steve Lyons Meteorologist in Charge - NWS San Angelo, TX Former Weather Channel Hurricane Expert B.S., M.S. and Ph.D. in Meteorology, University of Hawaii
  18. 18. Community Outreach Kayla Flynn Mentoring program Potential Speakers
  19. 19. John Merrill John Merrill is an atmospheric scientist who uses meteorological techniques to study the long range transport of substances in the atmosphere and the impacts of meteorological processes on the environment. He received an AB in Physics at the University of California, Berkeley (1968); an MS in Physics at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (1970) and a PhD from the University of Colorado He is currently researching at the University of Rhode Island Graduate School of Oceanography.. He served as Associate Dean of the School of Oceanography over a period of five years, ending in 2002
  20. 20. Alan Betts Dr. Alan Betts of Atmospheric Research in Pittsford is Vermont’s leading climate scientist. He has a BA and MA in Natural Sciences from the University of Cambridge and a PhD in Meteorology from Imperial College, University of London in 1970. He came to the US as a post-doc in the Atmospheric Science Department at Colorado State University in 1970; where he served on the academic faculty till 1979. He has previously spoke at Lyndon
  21. 21. Historian Sarah Murphy Potential Speakers
  22. 22. Cegeon Chan Cegeon Chan currently works for First Wind in Massachusetts as a research scientist. He graduated from Lyndon in 2003 and then went to Massachusetts Institute of Technology. He has previously spoken at Lyndon
  23. 23. Lesley-Ann Dupigny-Giroux She is the state climatologist for Vermont. She is currently a professor at the University of Vermont teaching geology. She also specializes in weather hazards, drought, and remote sensing and has also published several articles on different topics. She graduated from the University of Toronto and got her PhD at McGill University.