Google Confidential and Proprietary 1
AdWords – Key Concepts
Search Advertising 101
Filip Hracek
Account Strategist
Google Confidential and Proprietary 2
Content
1 Key Concepts of AdWords
2 Search Best Practices: Science of Search
3 The G...
3Google Confidential and Proprietary
What is AdWords?
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Rear-view mirror
4
“We drive into the future
using only our rear-view
mirror.”
Marshal...
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Print ads  Internet banner ads
5
Google Confidential and Proprietary 6
Why is search impotant?
87%of visitors to a website come from search engines
source:...
Google Confidential and Proprietary 7
Buying a new
laptop
laptop
How does marketing via Google work?
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Google.com => Search
Google Confidential and Proprietary 8
One search box
for all ques...
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Natural Search
Results
AdWords Ads
Note: Selected sites and products are used for illu...
Google Confidential and Proprietary
flights to barcelona
Online consumers use keywords to search for information.
Google S...
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Where do the ads show?
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Natural Search
Results
AdWords Ads
Note: Selected sites and products are used for illu...
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Natural Search
Results
AdWords Ads
Note: Selected sites and products are used for illu...
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Google Search Partners in Europe
NorwayNetherlands
Belgium
Germany
ItalySpain
France
P...
Google Confidential and Proprietary
AdWords Ads
Note: Selected sites and products are used for illustrative purposes only
...
Google Confidential and Proprietary
AdSense site
Note: Selected sites and products are used for illustrative purposes only...
Google Confidential and Proprietary 17
Contextual & placement targeting
Keyword / Contextual Targeting
Uses your keywords ...
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Largest global advertising network
The Google Content Network UK
•  Reach over 80% of ...
19
How are ads ranked?
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Search engine marketing
20
Search engine marketing
can be efficient but it can also be...
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Search engine marketing
21
Books at Amazon
Millions of titles, new & used.
Free 2-Day ...
Google Confidential and ProprietaryNote: Selected sites and products are used for illustrative purposes only
Cost-per-clic...
Google Confidential and ProprietaryNote: Selected sites and products are used for illustrative purposes only
Cost-per-clic...
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Ranking formula
CPC – Cost per Click
CTR – The ratio of the number of times an ad is c...
Google Confidential and ProprietaryNote: Selected sites and products are used for illustrative purposes only
Ad rank = max...
Google Confidential and ProprietaryNote: Selected sites and products are used for illustrative purposes only
Rewarding rel...
Google Confidential and ProprietaryNote: Selected sites and products are used for illustrative purposes only
Rewarding rel...
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Science of Search
Maximise profitable results from Google Search
Google Confidential and Proprietary
The Google Account Structure
AdWords account
Campaign Campaign
Ad group Ad group Ad gr...
Google Confidential and Proprietary 30
Account Limits
Level Limits
Active Campaigns 25
Ad Groups/Campaign 100
Keywords/Ad ...
Google Confidential and Proprietary 31
Optimisation
1 Landing page quality
2 Reviewing campaign/AdGroup structure
3 Match ...
Google Confidential and Proprietary 32
Landing Page Quality
Search: Cheap Holidays
• Easy to navigate
• Relevant to ad tex...
Google Confidential and Proprietary 33
Optimisation
1 Landing page quality
2 Reviewing campaign/AdGroup structure
3 Match ...
Google Confidential and Proprietary 34
Structuring Ad Groups
Create separate ad groups/campaigns for:
•  Specific themes
•...
Google Confidential and Proprietary 35
Official Google Products
Great prices on Google
Merchandise – Shop now!
www.googles...
Google Confidential and Proprietary 36
Beach towel
Google towels
Golf umbrella
Google umbrella
Google golf kit
Golf access...
Google Confidential and Proprietary 37
Group Keywords - Best
Google Beach Towel
Great prices on Google
Beach Towels – Shop...
Google Confidential and Proprietary 38
Optimisation
1 Landing page quality
2 Reviewing campaign/AdGroup structure
3 Match ...
Google Confidential and Proprietary 39
Keyword Matching Options
Match
Type
How it must be
entered in AdWords
The ad will
s...
Google Confidential and Proprietary 40
Optimisation
1 Landing page quality
2 Reviewing campaign/AdGroup structure
3 Match ...
Google Confidential and Proprietary 41
Choose all the right keywords
•  Core terms
•  Root & stem model
•  Singular & plur...
Google Confidential and Proprietary 42
General Rules on Keyword Selection
What you don’t need to consider What you need to...
Google Confidential and Proprietary 43
Optimisation
1 Landing page quality
2 Reviewing campaign/AdGroup structure
3 Match ...
Google Confidential and Proprietary 44
Writing Ad Text
Be specific!
•  Refer to USPs
•  Refer to location if needed
•  Use...
Google Confidential and Proprietary 45
1.  USPs: special offers, free / fast delivery
2.  Brand
3.  Prices
4.  Calls to Ac...
Google Confidential and Proprietary 46
{KeyWord:Google Products}
Great prices on Google
Merchandise – Shop now!
www.Google...
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Budgets
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Optimize daily budgets
Differentiate budgets by category of product / service
Measure ...
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Optimize daily budgets
Set CPCs to appear in the most profitable position
•  Typically...
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Optimize daily budgets
Budget for maximum return
Users search and convert at all times...
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Bids
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Optimise Bids
Bid according to marketing goal
CPC
for conversions
CPM
for branding
CPM...
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Optimise Bids
Know the value of a click / impression
PC World
Pink laptop
Coloured
Lap...
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Optimise Bids
Know the value of a click / impression
Last click attribution undervalue...
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Creative & Structure
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Optimise Creative and Structure
Use multiple creatives
Running 2-4 creatives can yield...
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Optimise Creative and Structure
Tailor your ad text to the user’s needs
Ad texts are y...
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Optimise Creative and Structure
Keep trialling different creatives
User behaviour is d...
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Optimise Creative and Structure
Mirror your website to structure your AdWords account
...
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Summary
Google Confidential and Proprietary
The Science of Search
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Key Takeaways
Add more keywords
Always check for new keywords.
Match your ads to your ...
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Google Display Network
The Performance Network
The Performance Network
What is the Google Display Network?
YouTube and Google Sites Doubleclick Ad Exchange Partner Sites
Sites Games Social Medi...
The Biggest Ad Network in UK*
84%

83%
 83%

82%

79%

74%
 74%

73%

68%

64%





Google
Content

Network





Microso:
...
No penalties
for late submission or campaign
withdrawals
No contracts
ever
No premiums
on different formats (like image, v...
Precise targeting to reach your goals
Contextual Targeting
Placement Targeting
Remarketing
Where They Are Where They Have ...
Contextual Targeting
Serve ads to consumers based on the content they’re reading using the
most powerful contextual techno...
Category Targeting
Serve ads to consumers based on our categorisation of thousands of sites
Choose from over 600 categorie...
Placement Targeting
Serve ads to consumers based on specific sites on the Google Display Network
You can select
specific w...
Remarketing
97% of new site visitors don’t convert on the first visit to your website. Target
those people on the Google D...
Remarketing
‘Our largest finance client has seen
tremendous results from the GDN for a long
time now. We were one of the f...
Remarketing drove the highest conversion rate and the lowest CPA for
Nexus One Display Campaign
•  Conversion rate for rem...
Google Display Network
Our recommended solution for your marketing need
Direct Response Branding
Goal
•  Drive Purchase, D...
Add a different quote
We use the Google Display Network for one of
our largest Direct Response advertisers and it
is consi...
Google Confidential and Proprietary 76
Content
1 Key Concepts of AdWords
2 Search Best Practices: Science of Search
3 The ...
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Thanks for your attention!
77
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Appendix
Additional Slides
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Additional slides for
core presentation
Our Vision for Display Advertising
Performance OpenSimplify
Buyer logs in to AdWords
or DFA, and specifies
desired inventory or reviews
available opportunities
Seller makes inventory...
Flexible site
placement;
targeting options
#1 Online Advertising
Network
Mass Media
Niche Media
# of sites
Reach
Across bo...
Overview of Targeting Options
Targeting Option How to use it When to use it
Available Ad
Formats
Goal
Contextual
Targeting...
Audience Selection
DoubleClick AdPlanner
AdWords Placement Tool
YouTube Video Targeting Tool
Find relevant Sites & Videos
...
•  Target people who have visited your website but didn’t convert
•  Re-advertise to these people with a different message...
Step 3: Start serving ads to your hot prospects
•  Create Text, Display or Video ads
•  Ads should be designed to persuade...
Control the Environment with Brand Safety Features
Negative Keywords
Use keywords to prevent your sites from appearing on
...
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Additional Topics
- Ad Formats -
Full set of creative options to engage with users
Ad Format Sizes
Standard Image
(JPG or GIF)
Standard Flash
Rich Media Fl...
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Additional Topics
- Pricing and Reporting -
You are in Control: Set Your Own Pricing
CPCCPM
What?
Pay whenever the
ad appears
Pay when users click
trough to your site...
Real-time Reporting and Controls to Maximize Results
Automate Optimization
•  Set your maximum CPA –
let Conversion Optimi...
Domain- and URL-Level Reporting
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Additional Topics
- Sample Sites -
Google Display Network Sites
Sample categories
Travel
Source: Google AdPlanner, Oct 2010, UK
Entertainment & Games News & ...
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Google Ad words

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AdWords is Google’s flagship advertising product which offers pay-per-click (PPC) and site-targeted advertising for text, banner and rich-media ads. In this session you will get basic overview of the AdWords and how to use it to better optimize your advertisement on the internet and get more leads from your web site.

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Google Ad words

  1. 1. Google Confidential and Proprietary 1 AdWords – Key Concepts Search Advertising 101 Filip Hracek Account Strategist
  2. 2. Google Confidential and Proprietary 2 Content 1 Key Concepts of AdWords 2 Search Best Practices: Science of Search 3 The Google Display Network 4 Q & A
  3. 3. 3Google Confidential and Proprietary What is AdWords?
  4. 4. Google Confidential and Proprietary Rear-view mirror 4 “We drive into the future using only our rear-view mirror.” Marshall McLuhan (1911-1980)
  5. 5. Google Confidential and Proprietary Print ads  Internet banner ads 5
  6. 6. Google Confidential and Proprietary 6 Why is search impotant? 87%of visitors to a website come from search engines source: Google internal
  7. 7. Google Confidential and Proprietary 7 Buying a new laptop laptop How does marketing via Google work?
  8. 8. Google Confidential and Proprietary Google.com => Search Google Confidential and Proprietary 8 One search box for all questions… Web results Video results (Steve’s famous Stanford commencement speech) News results (Articles about Steve and Apple) News archives Images
  9. 9. Google Confidential and Proprietary Natural Search Results AdWords Ads Note: Selected sites and products are used for illustrative purposes only Online consumers use keywords to search for information Google Search… and ads
  10. 10. Google Confidential and Proprietary flights to barcelona Online consumers use keywords to search for information. Google Search… and ads… our core business Note: Selected sites and products are used for illustrative purposes only Headline: 25 characters Description line 1: 35 characters Description line 2: 35 characters Display URL: 35 characters Destination URL: 1024 characters
  11. 11. Google Confidential and Proprietary Where do the ads show? Google Confidential and Proprietary
  12. 12. Google Confidential and Proprietary Natural Search Results AdWords Ads Note: Selected sites and products are used for illustrative purposes only Google Search Property
  13. 13. Google Confidential and Proprietary Natural Search Results AdWords Ads Note: Selected sites and products are used for illustrative purposes only Google Search Partner Ads are also served on keyword matching basis and relevancy
  14. 14. Google Confidential and Proprietary Google Search Partners in Europe NorwayNetherlands Belgium Germany ItalySpain France Portugal Turkey UK Switzerland Denmark Finland Poland Czech Republic Bulgaria Austria
  15. 15. Google Confidential and Proprietary AdWords Ads Note: Selected sites and products are used for illustrative purposes only Google Content Property Ads are also served on keyword matching basis and relevancy
  16. 16. Google Confidential and Proprietary AdSense site Note: Selected sites and products are used for illustrative purposes only Google Content Partner Ads are contextually matched to the theme of the page AdWords Ads
  17. 17. Google Confidential and Proprietary 17 Contextual & placement targeting Keyword / Contextual Targeting Uses your keywords to match the theme of your Ad Group to the theme of content pages 1 2 ‘Placement’ targeting The advertiser specifies the websites that they want to show their ads on.
  18. 18. Google Confidential and Proprietary Largest global advertising network The Google Content Network UK •  Reach over 80% of Internet Users •  1 Billion Daily Ad Exposures •  27 Million Monthly Visitors •  Thousands of Publishers Source: comScore Custom Analysis, Nov 07
  19. 19. 19 How are ads ranked?
  20. 20. Google Confidential and Proprietary Search engine marketing 20 Search engine marketing can be efficient but it can also be inefficient. relevant targeted measurable inexpensive irrelevant too broad “spontaneous” expensive
  21. 21. Google Confidential and Proprietary Search engine marketing 21 Books at Amazon Millions of titles, new & used. Free 2-Day Shipping w/Amazon Prime! Amazon.com/books BOOQ Laptop bags Vypers, Boas, Pythons, Mambas We’ve got them all. Fast shipping! www.pivotgear.com Search engine marketing can be efficient but it can also be inefficient.
  22. 22. Google Confidential and ProprietaryNote: Selected sites and products are used for illustrative purposes only Cost-per-click (CPC) => pay-per-click (PPC)
  23. 23. Google Confidential and ProprietaryNote: Selected sites and products are used for illustrative purposes only Cost-per-click (CPC) => pay-per-click (PPC) Charged up to max CPC
  24. 24. Google Confidential and Proprietary Ranking formula CPC – Cost per Click CTR – The ratio of the number of times an ad is clicked divided by the number of times an ad is viewed (Impressions) Max CPC AdWords is based on an auction designed to reward relevance
  25. 25. Google Confidential and ProprietaryNote: Selected sites and products are used for illustrative purposes only Ad rank = maximum CPC x Quality Score £2.50 x 6 = 15 £2 x 6 = 12 £3 x 3.5 = 10.5 £5 x 2 = 10 £2 x 4 = 8 £2 x 3.5 = 7 £0.5 x 8 = 4
  26. 26. Google Confidential and ProprietaryNote: Selected sites and products are used for illustrative purposes only Rewarding relevance £2.50 x 6 = 15 £3 x 3.5 = 10.5 £5 x 2 = 10
  27. 27. Google Confidential and ProprietaryNote: Selected sites and products are used for illustrative purposes only Rewarding relevance through Quality Score QS determined by: • Click-through-rate (CTR) • Relevance of ad text to keyword • Historical keyword performance • Landing page assessment • Other relevancy factors
  28. 28. Google Confidential and Proprietary Science of Search Maximise profitable results from Google Search
  29. 29. Google Confidential and Proprietary The Google Account Structure AdWords account Campaign Campaign Ad group Ad group Ad group Keywords Keywords Keywords Ad Text Ad Text Ad Text Ad Text Ad Text Ad Text Ad Text Ad Text Ad group level •  CPC bids Campaign level •  Daily budget •  Country and language targeting •  Network options •  Start and end dates Keyword level •  Keyword CPCs •  Keyword URLs •  Position preferences Keywords Ad group Account Level • Login Details • Billing information
  30. 30. Google Confidential and Proprietary 30 Account Limits Level Limits Active Campaigns 25 Ad Groups/Campaign 100 Keywords/Ad Group 2,000 Text ad/Ad Group No limit Images/Account 50 Overall Account Keyword Limit 50,000
  31. 31. Google Confidential and Proprietary 31 Optimisation 1 Landing page quality 2 Reviewing campaign/AdGroup structure 3 Match Types 4 Expanding keyword lists 5 Improving/writing ad text
  32. 32. Google Confidential and Proprietary 32 Landing Page Quality Search: Cheap Holidays • Easy to navigate • Relevant to ad text • Unique content • Display product details Cheap Holidays Great deals on all destinations. Lowest prices in the UK guaranteed! www.holidays.com
  33. 33. Google Confidential and Proprietary 33 Optimisation 1 Landing page quality 2 Reviewing campaign/AdGroup structure 3 Match Types 4 Expanding keyword lists 5 Improving/writing ad text
  34. 34. Google Confidential and Proprietary 34 Structuring Ad Groups Create separate ad groups/campaigns for: •  Specific themes •  Best selling products •  Brand/Company •  Products/Services •  Long-tail traffic Ideas for structures: •  Match the website •  Match the products you sell •  Organise by brand
  35. 35. Google Confidential and Proprietary 35 Official Google Products Great prices on Google Merchandise – Shop now! www.googlestore.com Beach towel Google towels Golf umbrella Google umbrella Google golf kit Golf accessories Blue umbrella Travel mug Flask Google flask Alarm clock Alarm clocks Google clock Google beach towels Blue travel flask Lava lamp Google lava lamps Travel alarm clock Red clock Golf umbrellas Usb stick Usb drive Google backpacks Laptop backpacks Laptop bag Google rucksacks Laptop case Google pens Google pencils Mouse pad Mini mouse Usb extender Pen sets Google speaker Vase speaker Small computer mouse Google mouse Memory stick Google office equipment Modem cord Cycling jersey Cycling top Google hoody Google hoodie Grey hooded top Google hooded jumper Hooded tops Cycling clothing Google clothing Arm warmer Google tshirt Google t-shirt Google t shirt Tracksuit bottoms Jogging top Baseball cap Google hat Fleece vest White t-shirt Polo shirts Group Keywords
  36. 36. Google Confidential and Proprietary 36 Beach towel Google towels Golf umbrella Google umbrella Google golf kit Golf accessories Blue umbrella Travel mug Flask Google flask Alarm clock Alarm clocks Google clock Google beach towels Blue travel flask Lava lamp Google lava lamps Travel alarm clock Red clock Golf umbrellas Usb stick Usb drive Google backpacks Laptop backpacks Laptop bag Google rucksacks Laptop case Google pens Google pencils Mouse pad Mini mouse Usb extender Pen sets Google speaker Vase speaker Small computer mouse Google mouse Memory stick Google office equipment Modem cord Cycling jersey Cycling top Google hoody Google hoodie Grey hooded top Google hooded jumper Hooded tops Cycling clothing Google clothing Arm warmer Google tshirt Google t-shirt Google t shirt Tracksuit bottoms Jogging top Baseball cap Google hat Fleece vest White t-shirt Polo shirts Group Keywords - Better Google Accessories Great prices on Google Accessories – Shop now! www.googlestore.com Google Office Equipment Great prices on Google Office Equipment – Shop now! www.googlestore.com Google Wearables Great prices on Google Clothing and gear – Shop now! www.googlestore.com
  37. 37. Google Confidential and Proprietary 37 Group Keywords - Best Google Beach Towel Great prices on Google Beach Towels – Shop now! www.googlestore.com Beach towel Google towels Google Bike Jersey Great prices on Google Bike Shorts – Shop now! www.googlestore.com Cycling jersey Cycling top Google USB Stick Great prices on Google USB Sticks – Shop now! www.googlestore.com Usb drive Usb sticks Google Golf Umbrellas Great prices on Google Golf Umbrellas – Shop now! www.googlestore.com Golf umbrella Google umbrella Google golf kit Golf accessories Blue umbrella Google Laptop Backpacks Great prices on Google Laptop Backpacks – Shop now! www.googlestore.com Google backpacks Laptop backpacks Laptop bag Google rucksacks Laptop case Google Hoodie Great prices on Stylish Google Hoodies – Shop now! www.googlestore.com Google hoody Google hoodie Grey hooded top Google hooded jumper Hooded tops
  38. 38. Google Confidential and Proprietary 38 Optimisation 1 Landing page quality 2 Reviewing campaign/AdGroup structure 3 Match Types 4 Expanding keyword lists 5 Improving/writing ad text
  39. 39. Google Confidential and Proprietary 39 Keyword Matching Options Match Type How it must be entered in AdWords The ad will show when The ad will show when a user types the following Broad Caribbean Cruise All words containing this word or combination of words in any order is used as the query Caribbean holiday Cruises Cruise holiday in the Caribbean Phrase “Caribbean Cruise” Keywords are typed in the exact order specified. But have other words before or after Cheap Caribbean Cruise Caribbean Cruise deals Luxury Caribbean Cruise Exact [Caribbean Cruise] Keywords must be only & exactly what the user types in Caribbean Cruise Negative Also Negative Phrase, & Negative Exact - Tom - “Tom Cruise” - [Tom Cruise] Ads will not appear when this search term is entered in the query Add will not show if someone types: Tom Cruise
  40. 40. Google Confidential and Proprietary 40 Optimisation 1 Landing page quality 2 Reviewing campaign/AdGroup structure 3 Match Types 4 Expanding keyword lists 5 Improving/writing ad text
  41. 41. Google Confidential and Proprietary 41 Choose all the right keywords •  Core terms •  Root & stem model •  Singular & plural •  Common misspellings (separate ad group)
  42. 42. Google Confidential and Proprietary 42 General Rules on Keyword Selection What you don’t need to consider What you need to bear in mind • Keywords case (upper/lower) Upper and lower case variations are not counted as separate keywords •  Plurals may not be included in match types •  Replication of keywords will lead to self-competition •  Variations on accents not included •  Misspellings not included
  43. 43. Google Confidential and Proprietary 43 Optimisation 1 Landing page quality 2 Reviewing campaign/AdGroup structure 3 Match Types 4 Expanding keyword lists 5 Improving/writing ad text
  44. 44. Google Confidential and Proprietary 44 Writing Ad Text Be specific! •  Refer to USPs •  Refer to location if needed •  Use Dynamic Keyword Insertion Create a Specific Ad Title •  Have a brand presence •  Include your best performing KW’s in the ad’s title. Create Multiple ads and test, tweak & test
  45. 45. Google Confidential and Proprietary 45 1.  USPs: special offers, free / fast delivery 2.  Brand 3.  Prices 4.  Calls to Action 5.  2 – 4 creatives per ad group → auto- optimization 6.  Dynamic Keyword Insertion Buy Google Beach Towel White cotton towel with full colour Google logo. Buy for under £15! www.googlestore.com/uk 64MB Google USB Drive Sleek, silver-tone USB thumb drive Ultra-portable. Only £15 – Buy now! www.googlestore.com/uk Buy Google USB Drive 64MB USB drive with Google logo Free delivery within 3 working days www.googlestore.com/uk {KeyWord:Google Memory Stick} 64MB, ultra-portable USB drive Buy now at Google’s Official Store www.googlestore.com/uk Official Google Towels 100% 2-ply woven cotton beach towel 36”x70” with Google logo. Buy now! www.googlestore.com/uk {KeyWord:Google Towels} 100% cotton heavyweight beach towel Receive 25% discount on 3 or more! www.googlestore.com/uk Hot tips for Creatives
  46. 46. Google Confidential and Proprietary 46 {KeyWord:Google Products} Great prices on Google Merchandise – Shop now! www.GoogleStore.com Cycling jersey Cycling top Google hoody Google hoodie Grey hooded top Google red logo hooded jumper Hooded tops Cycling clothing Google clothing Arm warmer Google tshirt Google t-shirt Google t shirt Tracksuit bottoms Jogging top Baseball cap Dynamic Keyword Insertion •  Use the appropriate format: {KeyWord: Default Text}   Upper case will determine format of inserted keyword.   Default text will be displayed when keyword isn’t allowed (e.g. character restriction)
  47. 47. Google Confidential and Proprietary Budgets
  48. 48. Google Confidential and Proprietary Optimize daily budgets Differentiate budgets by category of product / service Measure performance (CPA) by product category and adjust budgets and bids to meet your goals Campaign A Campaign B BudgetProfit BudgetProfit
  49. 49. Google Confidential and Proprietary Optimize daily budgets Set CPCs to appear in the most profitable position •  Typically Click Through Rate (CTR) increases with position •  As CTR increases, more customers come to your site from the same number of impressions •  Work out the highest profitable position for your ad text to achieve target volume and profit
  50. 50. Google Confidential and Proprietary Optimize daily budgets Budget for maximum return Users search and convert at all times of day, every day of the week, and every month of the year. As long as they are searching for you or your products, you should always be found The most efficient way of doing this is to raise your budgets and control your spend through CPC bidding
  51. 51. Google Confidential and Proprietary Bids
  52. 52. Google Confidential and Proprietary Optimise Bids Bid according to marketing goal CPC for conversions CPM for branding CPMs needs to be high enough to win the auction for placement on a selected site as they compete with CPC automatic placements, they are therefore the most powerful bidding option for branding campaigns with the goal of visibility vs. clicks.
  53. 53. Google Confidential and Proprietary Optimise Bids Know the value of a click / impression PC World Pink laptop Coloured Laptop Dell PC World Cheap Laptops Laptops Currys Tablet Laptops Toshiba Portege m400-11h PCWorld Laptops Laptops Coloured Laptops Pink Laptops Comet 0 15 22 26 30 37 43 47 48 62 66 PCWorld Dell DealTime Amazon PCWorld Dell Shopping.com eBay Comet Kelkoo Pixmania Dixons eBay Pixmania Bizrate MicroDirect Misco Currys Amazon Bizrate Dell Lenovo Toshiba PCWorld Dell Ebuyer Comet Currys PCWorld Sony Style Nextag Dell Pixmania eBay PCWorld PriceRunner ebuyer From “PC World” to laptop purchase at ebuyer in 66 days First Search Purchase VisitsSearchesDays
  54. 54. Google Confidential and Proprietary Optimise Bids Know the value of a click / impression Last click attribution undervalues crucial ‘assist’ clicks All the glory All the work AssistLast click conversion
  55. 55. Google Confidential and Proprietary Creative & Structure
  56. 56. Google Confidential and Proprietary Optimise Creative and Structure Use multiple creatives Running 2-4 creatives can yield the optimal CTR for your account as AdWords can assess the best performing ads and give them priority
  57. 57. Google Confidential and Proprietary Optimise Creative and Structure Tailor your ad text to the user’s needs Ad texts are your chance to attract customers as well as set realistic expectations as to what the user will find if they click through to your site. Book London Flights Great savings to be made on flights Out of London. Limited time only. www.londonflightsite.co.uk Call To Action Special Offer Save On Holidays Latest discounts, codes & offers! Up to 40% off high street prices www.holidaysite.com/specialoffer Prices Buy DVDs Online Get top box-sets and all the Latest movies from just £9.99 www.dvdstoresite.co.uk Dynamic Keyword Insertion (DKI) Low Apr Credit Cards Get 16.9% typical APR variable when You apply online, plus rewards www.creditsite.co.uk/cards
  58. 58. Google Confidential and Proprietary Optimise Creative and Structure Keep trialling different creatives User behaviour is dynamic and responsive to many external factors, e.g.: offline messaging, current affairs, the economic environment. Changing your creative message at regular intervals allows you to showcase different product USPs and to differentiate yourself from the competition. Trialling different creatives allows the creative to remain dynamic and may lead to uplifts in CTR (Click Through Rate). Book London Flights Great savings to be made on flights Out of London. Limited time only. www.advertisera.co.uk Save On Holidays Latest discounts, codes & offers! Up to 40% off high street prices www.advertisera.com/specialoffer
  59. 59. Google Confidential and Proprietary Optimise Creative and Structure Mirror your website to structure your AdWords account AdWords Campaign Ad Group Ad Group Ad Group Ad Group Website
  60. 60. Google Confidential and Proprietary Summary
  61. 61. Google Confidential and Proprietary The Science of Search
  62. 62. Google Confidential and Proprietary Key Takeaways Add more keywords Always check for new keywords. Match your ads to your website and advertising content Monitor your site and conversion activity to determine value of keywords Optimize bids and daily budgets Differentiate budgets by category of product / service Set CPCs to appear in the most profitable position Budget for maximum return Optimise creatives and structure Use multiple creatives Tailor your ads to the consumers needs Copy your website structure when building campaign structure
  63. 63. Google Confidential and Proprietary Google Display Network The Performance Network The Performance Network
  64. 64. What is the Google Display Network? YouTube and Google Sites Doubleclick Ad Exchange Partner Sites Sites Games Social Media VideoFeeds Mobile
  65. 65. The Biggest Ad Network in UK* 84%
 83%
 83%
 82%
 79%
 74%
 74%
 73%
 68%
 64%
 



Google
Content
 Network
 



Microso:
Media
 Network
 



AOL
AdverAsing
 (AdverAsing.com)

 



Yahoo!
Network
 



Specific
Media
 



24/7
Real
Media
 



Unanimis
 Network
Aggregate
 



ValueClick
Media

 (vcmedia)
 



TradeDoubler
 



Adconion
Media
 Group
 *By Unique Users Source: Comscore Media Metirx UK, April 2010 84% Internet User Reach 36M Monthly Unique Users 453 Average Impressions per User per Month Hundreds of thousands of sites
  66. 66. No penalties for late submission or campaign withdrawals No contracts ever No premiums on different formats (like image, video, rich-media) OR remarketing Price set by market Ensures that you only pay the minimum needed for your ad position; No fixed, inflated pricing, you chose the level to start off at You are in Control: Set Your Own Pricing
  67. 67. Precise targeting to reach your goals Contextual Targeting Placement Targeting Remarketing Where They Are Where They Have Been Category Targeting
  68. 68. Contextual Targeting Serve ads to consumers based on the content they’re reading using the most powerful contextual technology in the world Google uses keywords and themes to find the right placements, showing your ads on pages that are the most suitable match for your message
  69. 69. Category Targeting Serve ads to consumers based on our categorisation of thousands of sites Choose from over 600 categories Luxury Goods Luxury Auto Sites Travel Sites Golf Sites
  70. 70. Placement Targeting Serve ads to consumers based on specific sites on the Google Display Network You can select specific web pages, online videos, games, RSS feeds, and mobile sites to show your ads AdPlanner allows you to search for specific sites based on the audience that you are targeting
  71. 71. Remarketing 97% of new site visitors don’t convert on the first visit to your website. Target those people on the Google Display Network to bring them back to your site. Source: Core Metrics UK Benchmarking, March 2009
  72. 72. Remarketing ‘Our largest finance client has seen tremendous results from the GDN for a long time now. We were one of the first to use Google's remarketing technology, and it has been a boon to the operation. It has taken the overall performance to another level.’ Jessica Bender Digital Campaign Manager, PHD 97% of new site visitors don’t convert on the first visit to your website. Target those people on the Google Display Network to bring them back to your site. Source: Core Metrics UK Benchmarking, March 2009
  73. 73. Remarketing drove the highest conversion rate and the lowest CPA for Nexus One Display Campaign •  Conversion rate for remarketing was 2.3x higher than the account average and CPA was 2.4x lower •  Display ads performed the best. Remarketing display had 3.2x higher conversion rate than the account average for display. •  Due to high performance, the team roughly tripled the remarketing budget in 3 months Remarketing Case Study Source: Core Metrics UK Benchmarking, March 2009
  74. 74. Google Display Network Our recommended solution for your marketing need Direct Response Branding Goal •  Drive Purchase, Downloads, Sign-ups and Leads •  Create Awareness •  Generate Interest Targeting •  Category Targeting •  Contextual Targeting •  Remarketing •  Placement Targeting •  Category Targeting Bidding •  CPC •  CPM Ad Format •  Text •  Image, Promoted Video •  Rich Media •  Image and CTP Video •  Rich Media •  InStream Video How to get started today 1. Speak to your Display Sales representative about your campaign 2. Let us suggest the best way to access the network based on your objectives 3. We will help to build and execute an amazing campaign on the UK’s biggest ad-network!
  75. 75. Add a different quote We use the Google Display Network for one of our largest Direct Response advertisers and it is consistently one of the best performing networks on our plan. Tamara Cross Strategy Director, MG OMD
  76. 76. Google Confidential and Proprietary 76 Content 1 Key Concepts of AdWords 2 Search Best Practices: Science of Search 3 The Google Display Network 4 Q & A
  77. 77. Google Confidential and Proprietary Thanks for your attention! 77
  78. 78. Google Confidential and Proprietary Appendix Additional Slides
  79. 79. Google Confidential and Proprietary Additional slides for core presentation
  80. 80. Our Vision for Display Advertising Performance OpenSimplify
  81. 81. Buyer logs in to AdWords or DFA, and specifies desired inventory or reviews available opportunities Seller makes inventory eligible for purchase An auction matches each piece of eligible inventory to the highest bidding buyer. Alternately, buyers may purchase reserved Ad Exchange – What is it? Ad ExchangeMedia Buyer Publisher Auction
  82. 82. Flexible site placement; targeting options #1 Online Advertising Network Mass Media Niche Media # of sites Reach Across both mass-media and niche sites
  83. 83. Overview of Targeting Options Targeting Option How to use it When to use it Available Ad Formats Goal Contextual Targeting Select keywords to target ads to web content You want to reach people engaged with pages focused on particular topic Text, Image, Flash, Click- to-play video, 3PAS, Local business Direct Response Placement Targeting Manually select placements on pages where you want your ads to appear You want to reach a targeted audience in a specific set of environments Text, Image, Flash, Click- to-play video, InStream Video, InVideo, 3PAS Branding Category Targeting Select categories to target ads to groups of web pages with content focused on a specific subject You want to reach a broad audience interested in certain types of content Text, Image, Flash, Click- to-play video, 3PAS Branding, Direct Response Remarketing Target people who visited your website but didn’t convert You want to reconnect to build brand loyalty and cement your brand message Text, Image, Flash, Click- to-play video, 3PAS Direct Response & Longer-term branding
  84. 84. Audience Selection DoubleClick AdPlanner AdWords Placement Tool YouTube Video Targeting Tool Find relevant Sites & Videos AdWords Keyword Tool Search-Based Keyword Tool Google Wonder Wheel Develop keyword themes Google Insights for Search DoubleClick AdPlanner GDN Planning tool Find insights about your audience Plan your campaigns with the largest data set of audience behavior on the internet
  85. 85. •  Target people who have visited your website but didn’t convert •  Re-advertise to these people with a different message •  Bring them back to your website - engage them again •  97% of new site visitors don’t convert on the first visit* •  Target them on a network with more reach, scale & efficiency than any other •  84% of the UK online population can be reached on the Google Display Network •  You only target hot prospects that have previously engaged with your site •  No premium for Remarketing on the Google Display Network *Source: Core Metrics UK Benchmarking, March 2009 Remarketing
  86. 86. Step 3: Start serving ads to your hot prospects •  Create Text, Display or Video ads •  Ads should be designed to persuade hot prospects to return •  Upload ads to AdWords •  Set the cost you are prepared to pay to get them to return (CPC) •  Check if you want to exclude any sites, categories or topics •  Go live! Step 1: Set clear objective and tag your site •  Start with a simple strategy •  “Homepage” and “Thank You” page are a good place to begin •  Google Account Manager will email you 2 tags (a few lines of code) •  Copy and paste the tags onto the two pages •  You’re now collecting hot prospects! Step 4: Reap rewards and scale up •  Test, learn and scale Step 2: Google collects a hot prospects list •  Tags drop cookies on “Homepage” and “Thank You” page visitors •  Within 48h Google creates a list of visitor cookies for each site •  “Homepage” list - “Thank You” page list = “Hot prospects” list •  These hot prospects visited your Homepage but didn’t convert Remarketing / How does it work
  87. 87. Control the Environment with Brand Safety Features Negative Keywords Use keywords to prevent your sites from appearing on particular themes of page content. Site, Topic & Category Exclusions Prevent your ads from appearing on specific sites or types of Google Display Network pages. Above the Fold Targeting Exclude placements that may appear in a lower part of a website requiring the user to scroll. Ad Planner 1000 Restrict your campaigns to AdSense publishers that are one of the largest 1000 publishers on the web. Brand Select Filter Restrict your campaigns to AdSense publishers algorithmically determined by Google as brand safe based on site quality. Target IASH Bundle* Target an IASH approved bundle of sites on the Google Display Network using Category Targeting. * IASH bundle not yet available for targeting
  88. 88. Google Confidential and Proprietary Additional Topics - Ad Formats -
  89. 89. Full set of creative options to engage with users Ad Format Sizes Standard Image (JPG or GIF) Standard Flash Rich Media Flash In-Unit Video Click-to-play Video Ads Banner: 468 x 60 Square: 250 x 250 Small Square: 200 x 200 Leaderboard: 728 x 90 Medium Rectangle: 300 x 250 Large Rectangle: 336 x 280 Skyscraper: 120 x 600 Wide Skyscraper: 160 x 600
  90. 90. Google Confidential and Proprietary Additional Topics - Pricing and Reporting -
  91. 91. You are in Control: Set Your Own Pricing CPCCPM What? Pay whenever the ad appears Pay when users click trough to your site When? Campaigns in which you care about visibility and track metrics such as impressions, reach, frequency and search uplift Campaigns in which you care about clicks and track metrics such as sales, leads and sign ups The auction system guarantees the best possible price Conversion tracking and optimisation products are available at no extra cost
  92. 92. Real-time Reporting and Controls to Maximize Results Automate Optimization •  Set your maximum CPA – let Conversion Optimizer do the rest •  On average, a 21% increase in conversions and a 14% decrease in CPA* •  Provide creative, budget and target CPA and let Auto Optimizer* drive conversions •  Bid more on what works •  Exclude what doesn’t work •  Focus on profitable demos •  Invest more in profitable hours •  Manage frequency, maximize reach Optimize Manually * Source: Google Internal Analysis. This analysis compares the performance of Conversion Optimizer campaigns with a control set of campaigns and represents the average impact of Conversion Optimizer. The actual impact will vary from campaign to campaign. Get daily reports on: Site by site performance Reach and Frequency Conversions
  93. 93. Domain- and URL-Level Reporting
  94. 94. Google Confidential and Proprietary Additional Topics - Sample Sites -
  95. 95. Google Display Network Sites Sample categories Travel Source: Google AdPlanner, Oct 2010, UK Entertainment & Games News & Classified Health & Beauty Finance Communities

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