clint, jordan, and jose jalapino's project


Published on

Published in: Education
  • Be the first to comment

  • Be the first to like this

No Downloads
Total Views
On Slideshare
From Embeds
Number of Embeds
Embeds 0
No embeds

No notes for slide

clint, jordan, and jose jalapino's project

  1. 1. House Leaders!
  2. 2. Speaker Of The House! Nancy Pelosi <ul><li>1987 is when she was first elected. </li></ul><ul><li>She has 12 terms under her belt. </li></ul><ul><li>2007 was her reelection year. </li></ul><ul><li>Minority leader WAS her political work. </li></ul><ul><li>Baltimore, Maryland </li></ul><ul><li>Born in 1940. Witch makes her 70 this year. </li></ul>
  3. 3. Minority Leader John Boehner <ul><li>1993 was his first election year. </li></ul><ul><li>He's got 10 terms under his fat belt. </li></ul><ul><li>2009 was his re-election year. </li></ul><ul><li>He is a republican. </li></ul><ul><li>Home town is Cincinnati Ohio. </li></ul><ul><li>Born in 1949. </li></ul>
  4. 4. Minority Whip Eric Crantor <ul><li>2000 was his first election year. </li></ul><ul><li>He has 5 terms under his belt. </li></ul><ul><li>2008 was his re-election year. </li></ul><ul><li>Richmond Virginia is his home town. </li></ul>
  5. 5. Majority Leader Steny Hoyer <ul><li>1981 was his first year elected. </li></ul><ul><li>He has 15 terms. </li></ul><ul><li>2008 was his re-election year. </li></ul><ul><li>Democratic whip. </li></ul><ul><li>Born in New York but grew up in Mitchellville Maryland. </li></ul><ul><li>Born in 1939. </li></ul>
  6. 6. Majority Whip James E. Clyburn <ul><li>1992 was his first election year. </li></ul><ul><li>he has 6 terms. </li></ul><ul><li>2008 was his re-elected year. </li></ul><ul><li>Born in 1940 in south Carolina. </li></ul>
  7. 7. President of Senate Joe Biden <ul><li>Born November 20 1942 </li></ul><ul><li>Elected to senate in 1972 </li></ul><ul><li>Current vice President </li></ul><ul><li>Home State- Delaware </li></ul><ul><li>His Political work includes national security, economic crisis, civil rites, and other major American issues. </li></ul><ul><li>Re-elected in 2010 </li></ul><ul><li>6 terms as senator </li></ul>
  8. 8. Pro Temp of Senate Robert C. Byrd <ul><li>Senator of West Virginia </li></ul><ul><li>Born November 20 1917 </li></ul><ul><li>Elected to Senate 1959 </li></ul><ul><li>Re-election Jan 3 2007 </li></ul><ul><li>9 terms in Senate </li></ul><ul><li>A lot of his political work includes economic issues, transportation, health care, and national security </li></ul>
  9. 9. Majority Leader Harry Reid <ul><li>Senator of Nevada </li></ul><ul><li>Elected to senate in 1986 </li></ul><ul><li>4 Terms in Senate </li></ul><ul><li>Re-elected Jan 4 2007 </li></ul><ul><li>In 1986, Reid won the Democratic nomination for the seat of retiring two-term incumbent Paul Laxalt. He defeated former at-large Congressman Jim Santini, a Democrat who had turned Republican, in the November election. He coasted to reelection in 1992. However, he barely defeated 1st District Congressman John Ensign in 1998 in the midst of a statewide Republican sweep. </li></ul><ul><li>In 2004, Reid won reelection with 61 percent of the vote, gaining the endorsement of several Republicans. </li></ul>
  10. 10. Minority Leader Mitch McConnell <ul><li>Year elected 1984 </li></ul><ul><li>5 terms as senator </li></ul><ul><li>2007 re-elected </li></ul><ul><li>Home state- Kentucky </li></ul><ul><li>In March 1967, during his final semester of law school, McConnell gained experience on Capitol Hill l as an intern under Senator John Sherman Cooper, later as an assistant to Senator Marlow Cook, and was a Deputy Assistant Attorney General under President Gerald R. Ford. From 1978 until his election to the Senate, he was the Jefferson County Judge/Executive, the top political office in Jefferson County, which includes Louisville. </li></ul>
  11. 11. Minority Whip John Kyl <ul><li>Year elected- 2008 </li></ul><ul><li>3 terms in senate </li></ul><ul><li>Was re-elected in 2007 </li></ul><ul><li>Home state- Arizona </li></ul><ul><li>Kyl has been elected by his fellow Senate Republicans to a succession of leadership posts: Policy Committee chairman (2003–2007), Conference chairman (2007), and most recently (in December 2007), Senate Minority Whip. Kyl's ascension to Minority Whip makes him the first Arizonan to hold such an influential Senate leadership post since Democrat Ernest W. McFarland served as Senate Majority Leader from 1951 to 1953. Kyl is the only Arizona Republican to hold such a powerful leadership position. </li></ul>
  12. 12. Majority Whip Richard Durbin <ul><li>Year elected- 1996 </li></ul><ul><li>Re-election- 2007 </li></ul><ul><li>Home state- Illinois </li></ul><ul><li>terms served- 2 </li></ul><ul><li>Durbin is one of the most liberal members of Congress, and his voting record is very similar to the Democratic caucus position, consistent with his leadership position as Whip, which has the duty of persuading senators to follow the party line in their votes. As a trial lawyer, Durbin has an excellent ability of debating, so much so that his boss, majority leader Harry Reid called him &quot;the best debater&quot; in the U.S. senate. </li></ul>