Business Support
SME:
Micro, small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs): enterprises which employ
fewer than 250 persons and which have an a...
Most important:
Friends/family.
Not included in this summary:
Accountant, solicitor, etc. etc.
Your university/school/coll...
Europe:
European Small Business Portal: www.ec.europa.eu/small-business/
Enterprise Europe Network: www.een.ec.europa.e/
UK:
BIS: www.bis.gov.uk
www.gov.uk
Business Link Helpline: 0845 600 9006. Monday to Friday, 9am to 6pm.
StartUp Britain: w...
Local:
GM Chamber: www.gmchamber.co.uk
Solutions Group: www.economic-solutions.co.uk
Business Growth Hub: www.businessgrow...
Sector specific:
Creative England: A dedicated support agency for the creative industries outside
London. www.creativeengl...
Tailored support:
The Women’s Organisation: www.thewomensorganisation.org.uk
Prowess 2.0: www.prowess.org.uk
Startup: www....
Carbon Trust: www.carbontrust.com
The Guardian small business network: www.guardian.co.uk/small-business-
network
UnLtd: w...
CAN: www.can-online.org.uk
Social Enterprise Northwest: www.senw.org.uk
Growth Accelerator: www.growthaccelerator.com
Ment...
Grants/funding:
Funding Central: www.fundingcentral.org.uk
Access to Finance (A2F): www.a2fnw.co.uk
Charles Camilleri Foun...
www.thebusinessgroup.org
Upcoming SlideShare
Loading in …5
×

Business Support Networks

312 views

Published on

A brief introduction for students and graduates at the University of Salford to business support groups/networks.

Published in: Business, News & Politics
0 Comments
0 Likes
Statistics
Notes
  • Be the first to comment

  • Be the first to like this

No Downloads
Views
Total views
312
On SlideShare
0
From Embeds
0
Number of Embeds
3
Actions
Shares
0
Downloads
4
Comments
0
Likes
0
Embeds 0
No embeds

No notes for slide

Business Support Networks

  1. 1. Business Support
  2. 2. SME: Micro, small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs): enterprises which employ fewer than 250 persons and which have an annual turnover not exceeding 50 million euro, and/or an annual balance sheet total not exceeding 43 million euro. UK Business: Activity, Size and Location, 2012. ONS. Salford/Greater Manchester. European, national, regional, sub-regional, local. ‘New’ business. Micro Small Medium SMEs Employees 0-9 10-49 50-249 0-249 250+ Total UK 2,163,610 359,505 75,795 2,598,910 11,625 2,610,535 Salford 6,290 1,285 295 7,870 60 7,930
  3. 3. Most important: Friends/family. Not included in this summary: Accountant, solicitor, etc. etc. Your university/school/college and groups aimed specifically at students. Housing associations. Trade associations, networking groups, FSB, CBI, European Fisheries Fund, Northwest Aerospace Alliance, rural enterprise, recruitment. Oil companies. The taxman. Many, many more.
  4. 4. Europe: European Small Business Portal: www.ec.europa.eu/small-business/ Enterprise Europe Network: www.een.ec.europa.e/
  5. 5. UK: BIS: www.bis.gov.uk www.gov.uk Business Link Helpline: 0845 600 9006. Monday to Friday, 9am to 6pm. StartUp Britain: www.startupbritain.org ‘A national campaign by entrepreneurs for entrepreneurs’ ‘completely funded by our private-sector sponsors (BT Business, Dell, Intel, Intuit, Iris and PayPal)’ British Library Business & IP Centre: www.bl.uk/bipc Technology Strategy Board: www.innovateuk.org UK Trade & Investment (UKTI): www.ukti.gov.uk
  6. 6. Local: GM Chamber: www.gmchamber.co.uk Solutions Group: www.economic-solutions.co.uk Business Growth Hub: www.businessgrowthhub.com Ask About Business: www.askaboutbusiness.org Blue Orchid Management Consultants: The largest provider in Business Start Up Support in the North West. www.theblueorchid.co.uk The Business Group: www.thebusinessgroup.org MIDAS: www.investinmanchester.com/property-search/ Salford City Council: http://www.visitsalford.info/locate/
  7. 7. Sector specific: Creative England: A dedicated support agency for the creative industries outside London. www.creativeengland.co.uk pro•manchester: Corporate membership organisation representing the financial and professional service community in and around Greater Manchester. www.pro-manchester.co.uk Arts Council: www.artscouncil.org.uk Manufacturing Advisory Service (MAS): consultancy support for manufacturing businesses High Performance Purchasing. www.mymas.org North West Textile Network: www.nwtexnet.co.uk British Retail Consortium etc. etc.
  8. 8. Tailored support: The Women’s Organisation: www.thewomensorganisation.org.uk Prowess 2.0: www.prowess.org.uk Startup: www.startupnow.org.uk The Prince’s Initiative for Mature Enterprise: www.prime.org.uk New Enterprise Allowance. ELIE: www.elie-project.eu
  9. 9. Carbon Trust: www.carbontrust.com The Guardian small business network: www.guardian.co.uk/small-business- network UnLtd: www.unltd.org.uk Locality: www.locality.org.uk Co-operatives North West: www.cooperatives-nw.coop Co-operative Enterprise Hub: www.co-operative.coop/enterprisehub Social Enterprise UK: www.socialenterprise.org.uk
  10. 10. CAN: www.can-online.org.uk Social Enterprise Northwest: www.senw.org.uk Growth Accelerator: www.growthaccelerator.com Mentorsme: www.mentorsme.co.uk RBS Inspiring Enterprise: www.inspiringenterprise.rbs.com Co-op Bank, Lloyds, HSBC etc. etc.
  11. 11. Grants/funding: Funding Central: www.fundingcentral.org.uk Access to Finance (A2F): www.a2fnw.co.uk Charles Camilleri Foundation: www.charlescamilleri.org The Social Investment Business Group: www.sibgroup.org.uk The North West Fund: www.thenorthwestfund.co.uk Social finance, business angels, crowd funding, start-up loans, etc. etc.
  12. 12. www.thebusinessgroup.org

×