Finance ministers of india


Published on

  • Be the first to comment

  • Be the first to like this

No Downloads
Total views
On SlideShare
From Embeds
Number of Embeds
Embeds 0
No embeds

No notes for slide

Finance ministers of india

  1. 1. A Quick RecapSince Independence
  2. 2. Ramasamy Chetty KandasamyShanmukham Chetty Served as independent Indias first finance minister from 1947 to 1949 However, it was not the budget but a review of the economic scenario that India was in at that time He Also served as President of IndiasCentral Legislative Assembly from 1933to 1935 and Diwan of Cochin kingdom from 1935 to 1941
  3. 3. Chintaman Dwarakanath Deshmukh He was the finance minister of India from 1950-1957. He was the first one to present the budget in the first elected parliament.While presenting the budget for 1950-51, he announced the formation of the Planning CommissionWas the first Indian to be appointed as the Governor of the Reserve Bank of India in 1943 by the British Raj
  4. 4. Jawaharlal Nehru After Krishnamachari resigned from thepost of Finance Minister, Jawaharlal Nehru took over He was the Prime Minister then He presented the budget for 1958-59 He emerged as the paramount leader ofthe Indian Independence Movement under the tutelage of Mahatma Gandhi He ruled India from its establishment as an independent nation in 1947 until his death in office in 1964
  5. 5. Morarji Ranchhodji DesaiIn 1958 he became the finance minister He presented five annual and one interim budget After the fourth general election, he once again became the finance minister and was on the post from 1967-1969During this tenure he presented three budgets and one interim budget
  6. 6. Indira Priyadarshini GandhiAfter Desai resigned, Indira Gandhi became the Finance MinisterSo far, she has been the only womanFinance Minister and took over the portfolio from 1970-71She was the third Prime Minister of India
  7. 7. R. Venkataraman He was the Finance Minister from 1980-1982 After the seventh General Elections in January, 1980 the Congress Party returned to power and presented theinterim and final budgets from 1980-81 and the annual budget for 1981-82. Later he rose to become the country’s Vice President and President
  8. 8. Pranab Mukherjee He took over the responsibility ofthe finance minister from 1982-1984He presented the annual budgets for 1982-83, 1983-84 and 1984-85 He was the first Rajya Sabha member to hold the Finance portfolioHe became the finance minister again in 2009-2010
  9. 9. Manmohan SinghHe was the Finance Minister in 1991- 96, took over the position again in 2008-09 & 2012 He opened up the Indian economy, liberalized trade and encouraged foreign investors to explore Indian opportunitiesHe is currently the Prime Minister of India
  10. 10. Chidambaram PalaniappanHe was the Finance Minister from 1996- 98He took over the profile again in 2004-08 and became the Finance Minster yet again in 2012. He is the current Finance Minister of India