INTRODUCTION
TO GOOGLE
ADWORDS
Frederic Chanut
Managing Director In Marketing We Trust
SLIDES
AVAILABLE
http://www.inmarketingwetrust.com.au/google-adwords-course/
YES
90 MIN. INTRO TO GOOGLE
ADWORDS
AGENDA
‣ Key advantages
‣ How Adwords actually works
‣ Walkthrough setup + campaign
‣ Whic...
HOW TO GET ON TOP OF GOOGLE IN 10 MINUTES
1. Open a free Google AdWords account
2. Enter your credit card details.
3. Find...
#1 SOURCE USED IN PURCHASE DECISIONS 5
Source: Google & Compete, B2B Customer Study, 2012
94%
6%
Google Others
SEARCH ENGINES IN AUSTRALIA 6
SEM VS SEO 7
SEO vs SEM
Organic
Adwords
TRAFFIC BREAKDOWN 8
Don’t leave
Adwords
to IT!!!
ADWORDS IS A MARKETING INITIATIVE 9
KEY
ADVANTAGES
“So is that internet marketing another fad?!”
GM of a Very large Non-profit-Org in Aus Nov-12
INTRODUCTION ...
Source
12
‣ Source
Source
Source
MEASURABILITY
source
AGILITY 15
ADWORDS BEST USED FOR
‣Testing
‣Early Stage
‣Fast deployment
‣Buried pages (difficult for SEO)
‣Focus on Conversion
‣Great...
HOW ADWORDS
ACTUALLY
WORKS
… and how to stop wasting your mullah
(not Omar, the other one)
INTRODUCTION TO GOOGLE ADWORDS
Impressions: When Google displays your ad
Clicks: When someone clicks on your ad
CTR: Click Through Rate
Average Position:...
STARTS WITH A SEARCH QUERY 19
Source
BIDDING AUCTION 20
Source
UNDERSTANDING ADRANK 21
Source
Source
DETERMINE WHAT YOU PAY 22
Account
Campaign
#1
Ad Group
#1-1
Keyword #1-1-1
Keyword #1-1-2
Keyword #1-1-3
Keyword #1-1-4
Ad Copy #1-1-1
Ad Copy #1-1-...
GOOD ADWORDS ACCOUNT MANAGEMENT 24
GOALS &
BUDGET
Know thy purpose, Know thy budget
WHY DOES YOUR WEBSITE EXIST?
GOALS 26
Lead generation
Ecommerce
Contact Register
Download / Use / Take Action
Interactiveaccounting.com.au
Sells $400/mth package
Max spend per cust. $ 500
Assume: Sydney accountant
Search volume: 9,9...
Interactiveaccounting.com.au
Sells $400/mth package
Max spend per cust. $ 500
Assume: Sydney accountant
Search volume: 9,9...
WALK-
THROUGH
SETUP
Techy stuff already? Going to be fun ride…
WALKTHROUGH – SETUP ANALYTICS 30
WALKTHROUGH – SETUP ANALYTICS 31
WALKTHROUGH – SETUP ANALYTICS 32
WALKTHROUGH – SETUP ANALYTICS 33
More info
WALKTHROUGH – SETUP WEBMASTER 34
WALK-
THROUGH 1ST
CAMPAIGN
WALKTHROUGH – FIRST CAMPAIGN 36
WALKTHROUGH – FIRST CAMPAIGN 37
Start w/
Google only
and expand
as you build
experience
WALKTHROUGH – FIRST CAMPAIGN 38
Start simple
Expand reach
overtime
WALKTHROUGH – SETTINGS 39
Since
enhanced
campaigns all
devices are
targeted by
default
WALKTHROUGH – SELECTION LOCATION 40
Better to start
with a national
campaign and
reduce range
(unless local
biz.)
WALKTHROUGH – BID SETUP 41
Set bids to
manual to
increase
control and
efficiency
WALKTHROUGH – SCHEDULING 42
Set bids to
manual to
increase
control and
efficiency
WALKTHROUGH – AD ROTATION 43
WALKTHROUGH – SETUP AD 44
Just create 1
ad for now.
We will have
a closer look
at it later
WALKTHROUGH – SETUP KEYWORD 45
WALKTHROUGH – EXTRA SETTINGS 46
WALKTHROUGH – MOBILE BID ADJUSTMENT 47
WHICH
KEYWORD TO
PICK
I really think “Stuffed kangaroo balls bottle opener” is the perfect
keyword for our tourists market...
Search Marketing transform your customer pain points into
their
spoken/written language
You need to understand
their
Searc...
Source
KEYWORD MAPPING PURCHASE FUNNEL 50
MOST EXPENSIVE KEYWORD
IN ADWORDS?
QUIZZ 51
[Mesothelioma
settlement]
$142.67
Link
KEYWORD POPULARITY 52
ProductSubcategoryCategoryHomepage
Online Shoes
Women shoes
Online
Women boots
online
Black Knee
high boot
online
Stiletto...
KEY OBJECTIVES
Your Teammate’s keyword
EXERCISE
AGENDA
Time 5 min 1. Teammate defines his audience
2. Teammate defines his...
http://youtu.be/ZLfxIKw1V3Y
KEYWORD TYPES 55
MATCH TYPES 56
KEYWORD
PLANNER
INTRO
Google’s best update to squeeze even more money out of SMBs
INTRODUCTION TO GOOGLE ADWORDS
58WALKTHROUGH – FIND KEYWORDS
Marketer’s guide to Google Planner
WALKTHROUGH – KEYWORD PLANNER 59
Marketer’s guide to Google Planner
WALKTHROUGH – KEYWORD PLANNER 60
Quick view of
daily traffic
based on
max cpc or
daily ...
Marketer’s guide to Google Planner
WALKTHROUGH – KEYWORD PLANNER 61
Marketer’s guide to Google Planner
WALKTHROUGH – KEYWORD PLANNER 62
CREATING
EFFECTIVE AD
COPY
“Hey Target Audience, buy this".
- iinet bus ad
Pre-launch Buzz
AD COPY BASICS
- Headline grabs users’ attention and make them aware of your offering.
- Description line 1 should spark u...
9 TIPS TO WRITE GOOD AD COPY
1. Be Specific
2. Highlight your Unique Selling Proposition
3. Don’t forget your keywords
4. ...
KEY OBJECTIVES
Write effective Ad Copy
EXERCISE
AGENDA
Time 5 min 1. In your new campaign
2. Create 3 copies for 1 Adgroup...
LANDING PAGE
“Where the f*ck am I?!!”
First time Yahoo user.
Pre-launch Buzz
BASIC LANDING QUALITY TEST 68
1. The 3-second test => Engaging visuals
2. The ID test => Clear brand indent
3. The accessi...
Source
BEST
EXAMPLE
69
KEY OBJECTIVES
Your Teammate’s content
EXERCISE
AGENDA
Time 10 min 1. Using previous top keywords
2. Write the 7 things yo...
ADWORDS IN
ANALYTICS
More Numbers, Yipikaye!!
WALKTHROUGH ADWORDS IN ANALYTICS 72
WALKTHROUGH ADWORDS IN ANALYTICS 73
WALKTHROUGH ADWORDS IN ANALYTICS 74
MULTICHANNEL ATTRIBUTION 75
Consider
Campaign
results
beyond last
click
TOOLS & TIPS
“Lost my inspiration, so nothing to say on this slide”
– Sad isn’t it
Pre-launch Buzz
Google Suggest
GOOGLE SUGGEST 77
Wildcard Search
Use Wildcard (*) and
tilda (~) to search
variations of your
search query ...
SOOVLE.COM 78
Bookmark
it
UBERSUGGEST 79
Bookmark
it
KEY OBJECTIVES
Define your negative keywords
EXERCISE
AGENDA
Time 5 min 1. Using Google Suggest or Ubersuggest
2. List all...
ADWORDS EDITOR 81
Free
Download
GOOGLE TRENDS 82
Bookmark
it
http://www.semrush.com/
SEM + COMPETITORS KWDS 83
KEYWORDSPY 84
Not cheap
Good for
bigger
budgets &
Campaigns
WORDSTREAM 85
86
Shut up
and take
my money
Frederic Chanut
Managing Director, In Marketing We Trust
m. 04 3837 1981
e. frederic@inmarketingwetrust.com.au
www.inmarke...
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90 min adwords startup - Q3 2013 update

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Update version of my Intro to Google Adwords class to include recent changes to Google Adwords Tools and management.

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90 min adwords startup - Q3 2013 update

  1. 1. INTRODUCTION TO GOOGLE ADWORDS Frederic Chanut Managing Director In Marketing We Trust
  2. 2. SLIDES AVAILABLE http://www.inmarketingwetrust.com.au/google-adwords-course/ YES
  3. 3. 90 MIN. INTRO TO GOOGLE ADWORDS AGENDA ‣ Key advantages ‣ How Adwords actually works ‣ Walkthrough setup + campaign ‣ Which keywords should you pick ‣ Keyword planner intro ‣ Methods to create effective ad copy ‣ Landing page fundamentals ‣ Adwords in Analytics ‣ Tools & tips (if enough time) 3
  4. 4. HOW TO GET ON TOP OF GOOGLE IN 10 MINUTES 1. Open a free Google AdWords account 2. Enter your credit card details. 3. Find what users would type in to Google to find you 4. Select these “keywords” in the AdWords console and set a bid price. 5. Write an attractive ad that you would like to be seen by prospects. 6. Decide on a maximum daily budget. 7. Turn campaign live Get Traffic> Pay Google> Make Sales > RETIRE 4
  5. 5. #1 SOURCE USED IN PURCHASE DECISIONS 5 Source: Google & Compete, B2B Customer Study, 2012
  6. 6. 94% 6% Google Others SEARCH ENGINES IN AUSTRALIA 6
  7. 7. SEM VS SEO 7
  8. 8. SEO vs SEM Organic Adwords TRAFFIC BREAKDOWN 8
  9. 9. Don’t leave Adwords to IT!!! ADWORDS IS A MARKETING INITIATIVE 9
  10. 10. KEY ADVANTAGES “So is that internet marketing another fad?!” GM of a Very large Non-profit-Org in Aus Nov-12 INTRODUCTION TO GOOGLE ADWORDS
  11. 11. Source
  12. 12. 12 ‣ Source
  13. 13. Source
  14. 14. Source MEASURABILITY
  15. 15. source AGILITY 15
  16. 16. ADWORDS BEST USED FOR ‣Testing ‣Early Stage ‣Fast deployment ‣Buried pages (difficult for SEO) ‣Focus on Conversion ‣Great for Bottom of the funnel action 16
  17. 17. HOW ADWORDS ACTUALLY WORKS … and how to stop wasting your mullah (not Omar, the other one) INTRODUCTION TO GOOGLE ADWORDS
  18. 18. Impressions: When Google displays your ad Clicks: When someone clicks on your ad CTR: Click Through Rate Average Position: Where your ad appears Average CPC: Cost Per Click Quality Score: Google’s relevance score BASIC TERMINOLOGY 18
  19. 19. STARTS WITH A SEARCH QUERY 19 Source
  20. 20. BIDDING AUCTION 20 Source
  21. 21. UNDERSTANDING ADRANK 21 Source
  22. 22. Source DETERMINE WHAT YOU PAY 22
  23. 23. Account Campaign #1 Ad Group #1-1 Keyword #1-1-1 Keyword #1-1-2 Keyword #1-1-3 Keyword #1-1-4 Ad Copy #1-1-1 Ad Copy #1-1-2 Ad Group #1-2 Keyword #1-2-1 Keyword #1-2-2 Keyword #1-2-3 Keyword #1-2-4 Ad Copy #1-2-1 Ad Copy #1-2-2 Campaign #2 Ad Group #2-1 Keyword #2-1-1 Keyword #2-1-2 Keyword #2-1-3 Keyword #2-1-4 Ad Copy #2-1-1 Ad Copy #2-1-2 Ad Group #2-2 Keyword #2-2-1 Keyword #2-2-2 Keyword #2-2-3 Keyword #2-2-4 Ad Copy #2-2-1 Ad Copy #2-2-2 ADWORDS ACCOUNT STRUCTURE 23 Tight Grouping Keep your kwd group as tight as possible
  24. 24. GOOD ADWORDS ACCOUNT MANAGEMENT 24
  25. 25. GOALS & BUDGET Know thy purpose, Know thy budget
  26. 26. WHY DOES YOUR WEBSITE EXIST? GOALS 26 Lead generation Ecommerce Contact Register Download / Use / Take Action
  27. 27. Interactiveaccounting.com.au Sells $400/mth package Max spend per cust. $ 500 Assume: Sydney accountant Search volume: 9,900/Mo 3% of Search clicks ads 3% x 9,900 searches = 297 Cost per $3,53 x 297 = $1,048 3% of clicks generate enquiry 3% x 297 searches = 9 Cost per lead =$116 20% of enquiry Convert 20% x 9 leads = 2 Cost per cust =$524 27SETUP ADWORDS BUDGET Search Click Enquire Convert PRACTICAL EXAMPLE
  28. 28. Interactiveaccounting.com.au Sells $400/mth package Max spend per cust. $ 500 Assume: Sydney accountant Search volume: 9,900/Mo 3% of Search clicks ads 3% x 9,900 searches = 297 Cost per $3,53 x 297 = $1,048 5% of clicks generate enquiry 5% x 297 searches = 15 Cost per lead =$70 20% of enquiry Convert 20% x 15 leads = 3 Cost per cust =$349 28SETUP ADWORDS BUDGET Search Click Enquire Convert CONVERSION MATTERS
  29. 29. WALK- THROUGH SETUP Techy stuff already? Going to be fun ride…
  30. 30. WALKTHROUGH – SETUP ANALYTICS 30
  31. 31. WALKTHROUGH – SETUP ANALYTICS 31
  32. 32. WALKTHROUGH – SETUP ANALYTICS 32
  33. 33. WALKTHROUGH – SETUP ANALYTICS 33 More info
  34. 34. WALKTHROUGH – SETUP WEBMASTER 34
  35. 35. WALK- THROUGH 1ST CAMPAIGN
  36. 36. WALKTHROUGH – FIRST CAMPAIGN 36
  37. 37. WALKTHROUGH – FIRST CAMPAIGN 37 Start w/ Google only and expand as you build experience
  38. 38. WALKTHROUGH – FIRST CAMPAIGN 38 Start simple Expand reach overtime
  39. 39. WALKTHROUGH – SETTINGS 39 Since enhanced campaigns all devices are targeted by default
  40. 40. WALKTHROUGH – SELECTION LOCATION 40 Better to start with a national campaign and reduce range (unless local biz.)
  41. 41. WALKTHROUGH – BID SETUP 41 Set bids to manual to increase control and efficiency
  42. 42. WALKTHROUGH – SCHEDULING 42 Set bids to manual to increase control and efficiency
  43. 43. WALKTHROUGH – AD ROTATION 43
  44. 44. WALKTHROUGH – SETUP AD 44 Just create 1 ad for now. We will have a closer look at it later
  45. 45. WALKTHROUGH – SETUP KEYWORD 45
  46. 46. WALKTHROUGH – EXTRA SETTINGS 46
  47. 47. WALKTHROUGH – MOBILE BID ADJUSTMENT 47
  48. 48. WHICH KEYWORD TO PICK I really think “Stuffed kangaroo balls bottle opener” is the perfect keyword for our tourists market on mobile… INTRODUCTION TO GOOGLE ADWORDS
  49. 49. Search Marketing transform your customer pain points into their spoken/written language You need to understand their Search Intent Your worst enemies: Jargon Corporate Speak Creative Description CUSTOMER PROBLEM 49
  50. 50. Source KEYWORD MAPPING PURCHASE FUNNEL 50
  51. 51. MOST EXPENSIVE KEYWORD IN ADWORDS? QUIZZ 51 [Mesothelioma settlement] $142.67
  52. 52. Link KEYWORD POPULARITY 52
  53. 53. ProductSubcategoryCategoryHomepage Online Shoes Women shoes Online Women boots online Black Knee high boot online Stilettos online Classic Louboutin stilettos online Men shoes Online Boat shoes brown boat shoes for men KEYWORD MAPPING ARCHITECTURE ECOMM 53
  54. 54. KEY OBJECTIVES Your Teammate’s keyword EXERCISE AGENDA Time 5 min 1. Teammate defines his audience 2. Teammate defines his audience pain point 3. Teammate pitches his product (30 secs) 4. Write the first 3 queries you would use to find his product/his competitor 5. SwapDELIVERABLE Top 3 keywords your audience would use 54 RESOURCES Your Neighbour, Pen/ Paper; Laptop; iPad/ Tablet
  55. 55. http://youtu.be/ZLfxIKw1V3Y KEYWORD TYPES 55
  56. 56. MATCH TYPES 56
  57. 57. KEYWORD PLANNER INTRO Google’s best update to squeeze even more money out of SMBs INTRODUCTION TO GOOGLE ADWORDS
  58. 58. 58WALKTHROUGH – FIND KEYWORDS
  59. 59. Marketer’s guide to Google Planner WALKTHROUGH – KEYWORD PLANNER 59
  60. 60. Marketer’s guide to Google Planner WALKTHROUGH – KEYWORD PLANNER 60 Quick view of daily traffic based on max cpc or daily budget
  61. 61. Marketer’s guide to Google Planner WALKTHROUGH – KEYWORD PLANNER 61
  62. 62. Marketer’s guide to Google Planner WALKTHROUGH – KEYWORD PLANNER 62
  63. 63. CREATING EFFECTIVE AD COPY “Hey Target Audience, buy this". - iinet bus ad Pre-launch Buzz
  64. 64. AD COPY BASICS - Headline grabs users’ attention and make them aware of your offering. - Description line 1 should spark users’ interest in your offering. - Description line 2 should develop a desire to obtain your product. - And finally, the Display URL consolidate a user’s decision to take action. 64 This Title Is max length! 25 www.mattsfruitstand.com/titlelimits 35 This Line Is Okay To Use. Max limit 35 This Line Is Okay To Use. Max limit 35
  65. 65. 9 TIPS TO WRITE GOOD AD COPY 1. Be Specific 2. Highlight your Unique Selling Proposition 3. Don’t forget your keywords 4. Include A Call to Action 5. Stand Out from your Competitors 6. Get Right To the Point 7. Ad Formatting is Important 8. Display URL is a part of your Ad Copy 9. Test…Test & Test 65
  66. 66. KEY OBJECTIVES Write effective Ad Copy EXERCISE AGENDA Time 5 min 1. In your new campaign 2. Create 3 copies for 1 Adgroup DELIVERABLE Ad variation for your ad group 66 RESOURCES Internet connection, Adwords External Keywords Tool,
  67. 67. LANDING PAGE “Where the f*ck am I?!!” First time Yahoo user. Pre-launch Buzz
  68. 68. BASIC LANDING QUALITY TEST 68 1. The 3-second test => Engaging visuals 2. The ID test => Clear brand indent 3. The accessibility test => Clear contact, trackable 4. The "so what?" test => Value Prop, Powerful headline 5. The "yeah, right!" test => Awards, Certification 6. The serenity test => Testimonials 7. The “Now what?” => Clear Call to Action 8. More info => Quality Score + SEO 9. Just frickin sign-up!!! => No navigation, no distraction
  69. 69. Source BEST EXAMPLE 69
  70. 70. KEY OBJECTIVES Your Teammate’s content EXERCISE AGENDA Time 10 min 1. Using previous top keywords 2. Write the 7 things you would expect to find to answer your query 3. Compare against current page 4. Swap DELIVERABLE Top 3 keywords your audience would use 70 RESOURCES Your Neighbour, Pen/ Paper; Laptop; iPad/ Tablet
  71. 71. ADWORDS IN ANALYTICS More Numbers, Yipikaye!!
  72. 72. WALKTHROUGH ADWORDS IN ANALYTICS 72
  73. 73. WALKTHROUGH ADWORDS IN ANALYTICS 73
  74. 74. WALKTHROUGH ADWORDS IN ANALYTICS 74
  75. 75. MULTICHANNEL ATTRIBUTION 75 Consider Campaign results beyond last click
  76. 76. TOOLS & TIPS “Lost my inspiration, so nothing to say on this slide” – Sad isn’t it Pre-launch Buzz
  77. 77. Google Suggest GOOGLE SUGGEST 77 Wildcard Search Use Wildcard (*) and tilda (~) to search variations of your search query or synonyms
  78. 78. SOOVLE.COM 78 Bookmark it
  79. 79. UBERSUGGEST 79 Bookmark it
  80. 80. KEY OBJECTIVES Define your negative keywords EXERCISE AGENDA Time 5 min 1. Using Google Suggest or Ubersuggest 2. List all non relevant keywords 3. Save list in Excel Doc DELIVERABLE Negatives keyword list 80 RESOURCES Internet, Adwords Keywords tool, Ubersuggest, Excel Spreadsheet
  81. 81. ADWORDS EDITOR 81 Free Download
  82. 82. GOOGLE TRENDS 82 Bookmark it
  83. 83. http://www.semrush.com/ SEM + COMPETITORS KWDS 83
  84. 84. KEYWORDSPY 84
  85. 85. Not cheap Good for bigger budgets & Campaigns WORDSTREAM 85
  86. 86. 86 Shut up and take my money
  87. 87. Frederic Chanut Managing Director, In Marketing We Trust m. 04 3837 1981 e. frederic@inmarketingwetrust.com.au www.inmarketingwetrust.com.au Connect with us THANK YOU! 87 Keep in touch if you want feedback on your own strategy

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