Politics of Cyprus


Published on

Published in: News & Politics, Business
  • Be the first to comment

  • Be the first to like this

No Downloads
Total views
On SlideShare
From Embeds
Number of Embeds
Embeds 0
No embeds

No notes for slide

Politics of Cyprus

  1. 1. POLITICS OF CYPRUSBenedict (Viktor) Gombocz
  2. 2. Geography of Cyprus Location: Middle East, island in theMediterranean Sea, south of Turkey Area: Total: 9,251 sq km (3,355 sq km of which arein north Cyprus) Country comparison to the world: 171 Land: 9,241 sq km Water: 10 sq km Area – comparative: approximately 0.6times the size of Connecticut Land boundaries: Total: 150.4 km (approximately) Border sovereign base areas: Akrotiri 47.4km, Dhekelia 103 km (approximately) Coastline: 648 km
  3. 3. Physical Map of Cyprus
  4. 4. Introduction to Cyprus’ politicalsystem Politics of the Republic of Cyprus function in a structure of a presidential representativedemocratic republic, with the President of Cyprus acting as both head of state and head ofgovernment, and of a multi-party structure. The government exercises executive power; legislative power is vested in both thegovernment and the House of Representatives. The Judiciary is independent of both the executive and the legislature. Cyprus is a divided island; since 1974, the internationally recognized Republic of Cyprushas occupied the south two-thirds, and the Turkish occupied and controlled TurkishRepublic of Northern Cyprus (not officially recognized by any country other than Turkey)the northern one-third. The Government of the Republic of Cyprus continues as the only internationally-recognized power on the island (in addition to the UK’s international recognition as regardsthe SBAs), but in reality, its power only expands to the government occupied portion.
  5. 5. Cyprus’ political system: Government ofCyprus Capital (and largest city): Nicosia Official languages: Greek, Turkish Minority languages: Armenian, CypriotMaronite Arabic Demonym: Cypriot Government: Unitary presidentialconstitutional republic President: Nicos Anastasiades Legislature: House of Representatives
  6. 6. Cyprus’ political system:Constitution The constitution of 16 August 1960 predicted share of power between the GreekCypriots and the Turkish Cypriots. Attempts to reform the constitution led to the intercommunal conflict in 1963. This constitution is still in use, despite a lack of Turkish Cypriot presence in Cyprus’government.
  7. 7. Cyprus’ political system: Executivebranch Office: President Name: Nicos Anastasiades Party: Democratic Rally Since: 28 February 2013 Elected by popular vote to a five-year term,the president acts as both chief of stateand head of government. The post of VP is currently unoccupied;under the constitution of 1960, that post isset aside for a Turkish Cypriot. The President and the VP nominate theCouncil of Ministers together.Main office holdersDuties of the main officeholders
  8. 8. Cyprus’ political system: Legislativebranch The House of Representatives(Βουλή των Αντιπροςώπων - VouliAntiprosópon/ Temsilciler Meclisi) iscomposed of 59 members elected toa five-year term: 56 Greek Cypriotmembers selected throughproportional representation and 3observer members who represent theMaronite, Roman Catholic, andArmenian minorities. 24 seats are distributed to theTurkish community, but they are atpresent unoccupied.
  9. 9. Cyprus’ political system: Parliamentaryparties Democratic Rally (Δεκοθραηηθός ΢σλαγερκός,ΔΗ΢Υ; Dimokratikós Sinayermós, DISY) Progressive Party of Working People(Αλορζωηηθό Κόκκα Εργαδόκελοσ Λαού,ΑΚΕΛ; Anorthotikó Kómma ErgazómenouLaoú, AKEL) Democratic Party (Δημοκρατικό Κόμμα, ΔΗKΟ;Dimokratikó Kómma, DIKO) Movement for Social Democracy (Κηλήκα΢οζηαιδεκοθραηώλ, ΕΔΕΚ; KinimaSosialdimokraton, EDEK) European Party (Εσρωπαϊθό Κόκκα,ΕΥΡΩΚΟ; Evropaiko Komma, EVROKO) Ecological and Environmental Movement(Κίλεκα Οηθοιόγωλ Περηβαιιοληηζηώλ, KOΠ;Kinima Oikologon Perivallontiston, KOP)
  10. 10. Cyprus’ political system: Administrativedivisions Cyprus is split into six districts:Famagusta (Ammochostos), Kyrenia,Larnaca, Limassol (Lemesos), Nicosia(Lefkosia), Paphos (note – occupiedarea’s administrative divisions includesKyrenia, excluding a small part ofFamagusta (Ammochostos), and smallparts of Lefkosia (Nicosia), andLarnaca.
  11. 11. Nicos Anastasiades Born 27 September 1946 in Pera Pedi. 7th and current President of Cyprus;assumed office on 28 February 2013. Previously served as the leader of the rightof center political party Democratic Rally(DISY) from 8 June 1997-28 February2013. Is a lawyer by occupation and the founderof law firm "Nicos Chr. Anastasiades &Partners". Graduated in law from the National andKapodistrian University of Athens; finishedpostgraduate studies in shipping law atUniversity College London. During his university studies, h was amember of the Centre Coalition based inAthens formed by Georgios Papandreou. Was first elected as a member of theHouse of Representatives in 1981.
  12. 12. Democratic Rally Conservative, Christian-democratic political party in Cyprus, led byNicos Anastasiades, the current president of the Republic ofCyprus. Founded on 4 July 1976 by veteran politican Glafkos Klerides, wholater served as the president of Cyprus from 1993-2003. Member of Centrist Democrat International and InternationalDemocrat Union (both international affiliation) and EuropeanPeople’s Party (EPP, European affiliation and EP group). Won 28.2% of the vote in the 2004 EP election in Cyprus; elected2 MEPs, Ioannis Casoulides and Panayiotis Demetriou, who joinedthe EPP-ED Group, together with ex-DISY president YannakisMatsis. Its leader advocated the Annan Plan for the re-unification ofCyprus. After the refusal by the Greek Cypriot community, four MPs(Sillouris, Prodromou, Erotokritou, Taramoundas) who were inopposition to the party line were banned from the party andnumerous members freely resigned; the banned MPs founded aparty called European Democracy. European Democracy joined New Horizons in 2005 and foundedEuropean Party. Ex-party president Yiannakis Matsis presided over a splintercoalition For Europe in the EP election; he won a seat in the EPand joined the EPP group (he is still a DISY member). Won 30.52% and 18/56 seats in the 21 May 2006 elections, and34.27% and 20/56 seats in the 22 May 2011 elections. Its candidate in the 2013 presidential election, NicosAnastasiades, won that election.
  13. 13. Nicosia
  14. 14. The End (Το τέλοσ,Sonunda)