Sageography 091002130315-phpapp01
Upcoming SlideShare
Loading in...5

Sageography 091002130315-phpapp01






Total Views
Views on SlideShare
Embed Views



0 Embeds 0

No embeds


Upload Details

Uploaded via as Microsoft PowerPoint

Usage Rights

© All Rights Reserved

Report content

Flagged as inappropriate Flag as inappropriate
Flag as inappropriate

Select your reason for flagging this presentation as inappropriate.

  • Full Name Full Name Comment goes here.
    Are you sure you want to
    Your message goes here
Post Comment
Edit your comment

Sageography 091002130315-phpapp01 Sageography 091002130315-phpapp01 Presentation Transcript

  • Physical Features
    • South Asia consists of 7 countries – Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka
    • The landforms include, mountains, rivers, deserts, fertile plains, and plateaus
    • South Asia is located on a subcontinent – a large landmass that rests on its own tectonic plate yet is smaller than a continent
  • Physical Features
    • Scientists believe that over 60 million years ago the South Asian subcontinent was a part of Africa
    • It broke away, and began to drift north until it “hit” Asia
    • When the tectonic plates collided, mountains were formed
    • South Asia is divided into three regions: Northern Mountains, Northern Plains, & Southern Region
  • Physical REgions
  • Northern Mountains
    • Three mountain systems create the northern border of the Indian subcontinent : Hindu Kush, Himalaya, and Karakoram
    • The Himalaya Mountains are the highest mountain system in the world and effectively kept South Asia isolated from the East Asia
    • People from Central Asia (Afghanistan and Pakistan) were able to enter South Asia via the Khyber Pass of the Hindu Kush Mountains
  • Mt. Everest Karakoran Mts . Hindu Kush Khyber Pass Northern Mountains ▲ ▲ Himalayas
  • Hindu Kush
  • The Khyber Pass Kyber Pass
    • “ him” [snow]
    • “ aalaya” [home]
    • Mt. Everest is 29,035 feet. It is the highest mt. peak in the world.
    The Himalayas
  • Northern Plain
    • Wide fertile plains lie south of the mountains and are fed by three rivers
    • The Indus River begins in the Himalayas and flows southwest through Pakistan into the Arabian Sea
    • The Ganges River begins in the Himalayas and flows southeast through Bangladesh and eventually connects with the Brahmaputra River
    • The Ganges Plain has India’s richest soil and is home to about 40% of India’s population
  • Indus R. Ganges R. Brahmaputra R. Arabian Sea Indian Ocean Bay of Bengal Northern Plain Rivers
  • Southern Region
    • At the base of the sub-continent are two mountain chains – the Eastern Ghats and the Western Ghats
    • Between the mountains is a highland area known as the Deccan Plateau
    • The Western Ghats block seasonal rains and area is extremely dry
    • South of the Deccan Plateau is the Karnataka Plateau – this area receives seasonal rains and has fertile soil
  • Deserts / Plateaus Thar Desert Deccan Plateau Tibetan Plateau Deserts & Plateaus
  • The Deccan Plateau
    • 31,800 square miles in size.
    • Elevation range: 2,000 – 8,000 feet high.
    • From the Sanskrit word, “dakshina” [“the south”].
  • The Tibetan Plateau
    • The “Roof of the World.”
    • average elevation is 16,400 feet.
  • The Thar Desert
    • The Great Indian Desert
    • 200 - 1500 feet in elevation.
    • up to 127ºF in July.
  • Climate
    • Much of the subcontinent has 3 seasons: dry, wet, and cool – the seasons are influenced by the rainfall
    • Dry season – the land heats up, ground becomes hard, vegetation shrivels (M, A, M)
    • Wet season – (monsoon season) southwest wind brings heavy rain (J, J, A)
    • One of the wettest places on earth is Cherrapunji with 450 in. a year
    • Cool season – winds reverse blow from the northeast cooling the land down (S – F)
  • Climate Regions of South Asia