Video In Email Presentation


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If marketers could marry the engagement factor of streaming video with the targeting of email and guarantee deliverability, the results would be unprecedented. Learn how our new CertifiedVideo service is making the next generation of e-newsletters possible, complete with custom ad-supported video content that's certified to reach the right people at the right time. Also, find out how charter sender Thrillist is using video-in-email to take its campaigns to the next level.

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Video In Email Presentation

  1. 1. <ul><li>Video-in-Email: Bringing the Best of the Web to the Inbox </li></ul><ul><li>Wednesday, May 13 th </li></ul><ul><li>2:00 PM Eastern, 11:00 AM Pacific </li></ul><ul><li>Audio will start when webinar begins </li></ul><ul><li>Telephone: 1.866.500.1194 </li></ul><ul><li>Conference ID: 98766933 </li></ul>
  2. 2. Video-in-Email: Bringing The Best of the Web To Inbox Peter C. Horan Chief Executive Officer Goodmail Systems, Inc.
  3. 3. What’s The Matter with Email? <ul><li>Lots of hard work and investment but… </li></ul><ul><ul><li>The good stuff still gets blocked </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>The bad stuff still gets through </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>And the best of the Web never comes to email </li></ul></ul><ul><li>As a result… </li></ul><ul><ul><li>Consumers are scared </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Marketers are frustrated </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Top management is bored </li></ul></ul>
  4. 4. Email Still Doesn’t Get Delivered <ul><li>Actual Delivery Statistics For 1.2 Million Messages Sent Over 30 days </li></ul>Source: Pivotal Veracity, March 2009
  5. 5. Phishing: Getting Worse Not Better <ul><li>“ Email-borne malware in 2008 shows that phishing activity averaged around 1 in 244.9 email” </li></ul><ul><li>“ The use of botnets to host multiple phishing sites is a relatively new trend, first observed in January 2008” </li></ul><ul><li>“ Although the intensity of phishing attacks hasn’t changed significantly overall during 2008, the types of organizations targeted has widened ” </li></ul><ul><li>Phishing is no longer limited to banking/FSI but expanding into retail, job sites, online services and social networks </li></ul>Source: MessageLabs Intelligence: 2008 Annual Security Report
  6. 6. Web 2.0 vs. Email 0.7?
  7. 7. CertifiedEmail <ul><li>Conspicuous and consistent identification of legitimate messages </li></ul><ul><ul><li>The CertifiedEmail icon is the only way that a consumer can know that a message is truly legitimate. </li></ul></ul><ul><li>Fully secure and unspoofable solution </li></ul><ul><ul><li>Each message is cryptographically signed in real-time by a third party </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>The trust icon is part of the UI, controlled by the mailbox provider, not the sender </li></ul></ul><ul><li>Marketers know that their messages get delivered with images and links enables </li></ul><ul><li>Broadly supported across the industry </li></ul><ul><ul><li>ESPs, ISPs and MTAs all have “Goodmail Inside” </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Qualified sender can launch a CertifiedEmail campaign within a few business days </li></ul></ul><ul><li>Easy to send, easy to understand, and impossible to spoof </li></ul>
  8. 8. Much More Than a Whitelist GENERATOR DATA CENTER Content & Volume Filters Spam folder Inbox SENDER ISP / MAILBOX PROVIDER End User Computer GOODMAIL TOKEN? The Imprinter generates a hash of the message and requests a token from the Generator The Generator approves the request and returns a valid token The token is applied to the message and the message is sent The Mailbox Provider checks for the presence of a Goodmail token If token is valid, message is delivered to the inbox, identified as CertifiedEmail Non-certified email may be sent to the user’s bulk mail folder, inbox (blocked images), or trash Mailbox Provider sends logs of token activity to Goodmail If NO token, the message is routed through content and volume filters Internet The sender logs into the Goodmail MailCenter to view activity reports Blocked How The CertifiedProducts Platform Works IMPRINTER
  9. 9. The Virtuous Circle Of Certified Products The Goodmail CertifiedProducts Platform Cool Unique Products Profits for Partners Absolute Consumer Safety
  10. 10. A Small Sampling of Who’s Sending <ul><li>Leading brands across every vertical send CertifiedEmail </li></ul>Media Government & Non-Profit Travel Retail Financial FBI
  11. 11. CertifiedEmail Senders Earn More PROFIT Metrics and salary costs based on JupiterResearch Executive Survey, CPM Overall and B-to-C $3.09, Accredited Email Marketer $5.59; assumes a $68 AOV with 40% product margin. Source: JupiterResearch 11/08 US only JupiterResearch/E-Rewards Goodmail Email Executive Survey (10/08), n=202 (email marketers, US) +38% Dollars Generated Per Month Campaign Performance Model - Comparison of Monthly Revenue and Profits Based on E-mail Marketer Type
  12. 12. CertifiedVideo Is Live! <ul><li>Streaming video </li></ul><ul><ul><li>No increase in load times or file sizes </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Works with leading video players and ad servers </li></ul></ul><ul><li>Launch partners include: </li></ul><ul><ul><li>Target </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Fox Digital </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Daily Candy </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Thrillist </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>LiveNation </li></ul></ul>
  13. 13. How Can You Use CertifiedVideo? <ul><li>Media Companies </li></ul><ul><ul><li>Build audience </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><ul><li>Lock in your most loyal readers and viewers </li></ul></ul></ul><ul><ul><ul><li>Build your viewer database </li></ul></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Drive incremental revenue </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><ul><li>Gain incremental video plays and incremental revenue </li></ul></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Offer innovative programs that go “beyond the banner” </li></ul></ul><ul><li>Retailers </li></ul><ul><ul><li>Leverage video content and ads </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Cut through the clutter </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Ad powerful demos to product messages </li></ul></ul>
  14. 14. Thrillist Homepage
  15. 15. Sample Article With Embedded Video
  16. 19. Coming Soon To An Inbox Near You <ul><li>CertifiedCommerce </li></ul><ul><ul><li>Built on the proven Goodmail platform </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>Available to all Goodmail partners </li></ul></ul><ul><ul><li>In time for the 2009 holiday shopping season </li></ul></ul>
  17. 20. Dear Tom Good, We’d like to thank for your being our customer! We hope you have been happy with your digital cable service. Please find attached your secure Global Cable eBill for April 2009. You can pay your bill immediately with the payment method on your account (see below). To see your complete statement, see that attached PDF file. Transaction Complete! Thank you! We have received your payment for $125.16. To manage your account please login . Pay bill with my card on file
  18. 21. Put The Cash Register in Your Email <ul><li>Dynamically update product offerings </li></ul><ul><li>Saying “ act now” has never been more immediate or compelling </li></ul>
  19. 22. The Virtuous Circle Of Certified Products The Goodmail CertifiedProducts Platform Cool Unique Products Profits for Partners Absolute Consumer Safety
  20. 23. Q&A
  21. 24. Contact Us <ul><li>Goodmail </li></ul><ul><li>Peter Horan </li></ul><ul><li>CEO </li></ul><ul><li>[email_address] </li></ul><ul><li> </li></ul><ul><li>1.877.650.6505 </li></ul><ul><li>Thrillist </li></ul><ul><li>Ben Lerer </li></ul><ul><li>CEO / Co-Founder </li></ul><ul><li>[email_address] </li></ul>
  22. 25. What is the eec? <ul><li>The Email Experience Council (eec) is a member-driven trade organization working to establish best practices for email marketing. </li></ul>What does the eec do? <ul><li>Through research, roundtables, events, networking sessions, webinars, global communities, and other initiatives, the eec is educating and advancing the email marketing industry. </li></ul>
  23. 26. Who is involved with the eec? The eec has 7,000+ subscribers, 600+ paying members, and 24 corporate sponsors. Members Include: Sponsors Include:
  24. 27. <ul><li>eec member benefits include: </li></ul><ul><li>Access and discounts to exclusive eec research </li></ul><ul><li>Discounts for the Email Evolution Conference and other industry events </li></ul><ul><li>Invitations to members-only events and networking sessions </li></ul><ul><li>and a whole lot more! </li></ul>For membership, sponsorship and general information, please contact: Ali Swerdlow [email_address] 888.804.4521 x3