• Share
  • Email
  • Embed
  • Like
  • Save
  • Private Content
UTPA College of Social & Behavioral Sciences
 

UTPA College of Social & Behavioral Sciences

on

  • 573 views

This PowerPoint presentation introduces the UTPA College of Social & Behavioral Sciences and was part of my job as academic mentor for the Sophomore Academic Mentoring program at the University of ...

This PowerPoint presentation introduces the UTPA College of Social & Behavioral Sciences and was part of my job as academic mentor for the Sophomore Academic Mentoring program at the University of Texas – Pan American. The objective of this presentation was to allow my SAM protégés (assigned sophomore students with the same major as me) to know well their College departments, majors, faculty and staff as well as exploring major and minor options.

Statistics

Views

Total Views
573
Views on SlideShare
532
Embed Views
41

Actions

Likes
0
Downloads
0
Comments
0

4 Embeds 41

https://www.myedu.com 19
https://utpa.myedu.com 16
https://employer.myedu.com 5
https://employer.dan.www.myedu.office 1

Accessibility

Categories

Upload Details

Uploaded via as Microsoft PowerPoint

Usage Rights

© All Rights Reserved

Report content

Flagged as inappropriate Flag as inappropriate
Flag as inappropriate

Select your reason for flagging this presentation as inappropriate.

Cancel
  • Full Name Full Name Comment goes here.
    Are you sure you want to
    Your message goes here
    Processing…
Post Comment
Edit your comment

    UTPA College of Social & Behavioral Sciences UTPA College of Social & Behavioral Sciences Presentation Transcript

    • Meet the College of Social and Behavioral Sciences
    • College of Social and Behavioral Sciences - Dean’s Office & Staff - Message from the Dean - CSBS Staff - Majors, Faculty & Career Aspirations - Overview - CSBS Academic Programs - Anthropology - Political Science - Psychology - Sociology - Criminal Justice - Options for SBS Sophomores - What other majors/minors you can choose?
    • Message from the Dean Dr. Walter Díaz Dean of the CSBS We live in an era in which it is fashionable to think that the development of new technologies holds the key to solving many, if not most, of society's problems and challenges. However, close examination of many of these challenges shows that this is frequently not the case. Why is it that though our capacity to observe and forecast weather has improved greatly over the last decades, we still lose thousands of lives and billions of dollars in property damage to extreme weather events? Why is it that individuals, families, communities and whole societies continually make decisions and engage in behaviors that are known to be, at best, inefficient and, at worst, self destructive? These are examples of the kinds of questions that social scientists seek to answer. By bringing to bear the theories and methodologies of the social sciences on many questions relating to our behavior, we seek to improve our understanding of why we do what we do and to contribute to improving the quality of our lives, both as individuals and as communities.
    • Message from the Dean Students with strong social science backgrounds may find career opportunities in the public, private and non-profit sectors in any area where an understanding of human behavior is useful. You will find graduates from the social sciences working in fields such as human resources, mental health, advertising, criminal justice, social services, education and research, government and law among many others. We invite you to explore the many opportunities available to you by navigating through our website and by talking with our faculty and staff who are always willing to advise you about your professional development.
    • CSBS Staff Dr. Walter Díaz Dean | SBS 234 diazwr@utpa.edu (956)-665-3551 Dr. Gary Montgomery Assistant Dean | SBS 234 gtm6b5e@utpa.edu (956)-665-2967 Ms. Janie Peña Administrative Associate SBS 234 penaj@utpa.edu (956)-665-2424 Ms. Blanca Aleman Office Assistant III SBS 234 alemanb@utpa.edu (956)-665-3551 Mr. Javier Alvarez Administrative Coordinator SBS 234 jalvarezz6@utpa.edu (956)-665-7881 Ms. Ruby S. De La Garza Regional Director- Texas U.S. Department of Agriculture ruby.delagarza@osec.usda.gov (956)-665-7436 Ms. Monica Denny Administrative Service Officer SBS 234 dennym@utpa.edu (956)-665-8794 Dr. Jessica Lavariega Assistant Dean SBS 234 lavariegaj@utpa.edu (956)-665-8062
    • Majors, Faculty & Career Aspirations General Overview: The College of Social and Behavioral Sciences, is one of the six Colleges of the University of Texas-Pan American. It is composed of six departments: - Political Science - Sociology - Psychology & Anthropology - Criminal Justice - Military Science (ROTC) - CSBS Program Department: * Public Administration * Global Security Studies
    • CSBS Academic Programs At the undergraduate level the college offers… Bachelor of Arts degrees in: - Anthropology - Political Science - Psychology - Sociology Bachelor of Science degrees in: - Psychology - Criminal Justice
    • BA in Anthropology Anthropology is the study of humans (past and present). It seeks to understand the full sweep and complexity of cultures across all of human history. Anthropology draws and builds upon knowledge from the social and biological sciences as well as the humanities and physical sciences. Its central concern, as well as all anthropologists share, is the application of knowledge to the solution of human problems.
    • Major/Minor in Anthropology A major or minor in Anthropology is especially appropriate for professionals closely involved with people. Students acquire skills useful in many careers rather than skills applicable to one job. The Anthropology program at UTPA is strong in border studies (US-Mexico border.) Several of the faculty members are actively engaged in research projects on border issues such as politics, folklore, and historical backgrounds.
    • Major/Minor in Anthropology Students are exposed to these issues through their classes and also by their inclusion in the research projects themselves. Through their participation in classes and research projects, students are uniquely qualified and well trained to help businesses flourish in the rapidly changing demography of the U.S. where Mexican-origin populations are becoming increasingly important both in terms of economics and politics.
    • Anthropology Faculty Dr. Miguel Diaz-Barriga SBSC 344 (956)665-5354 diazbarrigam@utpa.edu Dr. Margaret Dorsey SBSC 331 (956)665-2909 dorseyme@utpa.edu Dr. Servando Hinojosa SBSC 351 (956)665-7002 hinojosas@utpa.edu Dr. Bobbie Lovett SBSC 360 (956)665-7877 bolo2t@aol.com Dr. Margaret Graham SBSC 318 (956)665-7393 mgraham1@utpa.edu Dr. Thomas Pozorski SBSC 322 (956)665-2865 tpozorski@utpa.edu Dr. Margaret Graham SBSC 318 (956)665-7393 mgraham1@utpa.edu Dr. Shelia Pozorski SBSC 329 (956)665-2572 spozorski@utpa.edu Dr. Russell Skowronek SBSC 317 (956)665-8085 rskowronek@utpa.edu Dr. Lynn Vincentnathan SBSC 330 (956)665-3567 lvincent@utpa.edu
    • BA in Political Science Political Science is the study of government, public policies and political behavior that uses both humanistic and scientific perspectives to examine all countries and regions of the world. Therefore, political scientists are professionals who analyze governments, public policies and critical issues that affect society either in general or particular: health, environment, civil rights, diplomacy and economy.
    • Major/Minor in Political Science Students majoring or minoring in Political Science enjoy a versatility of skills and a marvelous range of exciting careers in federal, state and local governments; law; business; international organizations; nonprofit associations and organizations; campaign management and polling; journalism; pre-collegiate education; electoral politics; research and university and college teaching.
    • Major/Minor in Political Science The Department of Political Science at UTPA offers a wide range of courses to students in which they can analyze local, state, national and global issues. The curriculum is designed to provide students to learn effective methods of research as well as incorporating political theory throughout their learning transition: an environment in which they can develop professional skills in analysis, critical thinking and research in politics.
    • Political Science Faculty Dr. James W. Wenzel SBSC 208 (956)665-3393 wenzel@utpa.edu Dr. Robert D. Wrinkle SBSC 223 (956)665-3679 rdwe116@utpa.edu Dr. Samuel R. Freeman SBSC 226 (956)665-3346 sfreeman@utpa.edu Dr. Gary J. Mounce SBSC 200-H (956)665-3343 mounce@utpa.edu Dr. Xi Chen SBSC 204 (956)665-8766 chenx@utpa.edu Dr. Jerry L. Polinard SBSC 217 (956) 665-3342 polinard@utpa.edu Dr. Sonia Alianak SBSC 224 (956)665-80593 alianak@utpa.edu Dr. Jessica L. Monforti SBSC 228 (956)665-8062 lavariegaj@utpa.edu Dr. Glynn R. Morgan SBSC 225 (956)665-3345 gmorgan@utpa.edu Dr. Paul Jorgensen SBSC 204 (956)665-3341 E-mail forthcoming Dr. Angel Saavedra SBSC 228 (956)665-3341 E-mail forthcoming Dr. William Sokoloff SBSC 204-A (956)665-3344 wwsokoloff@utpa.edu Ms. Sadé Walker SBSC 204 (956)665-3441 walkersa@utpa.edu Mr. Peter Doas SBSC 208 (956)665-3341 petedoas@aol.com Ms. Kay Ford SBSC 218 (956)665-3341 fordk@utpa.edu Mr. James A. Gleason SBSC 221 (956)665-3341 gleasonja@utpa.edu Ms. Cecilia R. Sandoval SBSC 315 (956)665-3347 csandoval3@utpa.edu Mr. Edward J. Jackson SBSC 222 (956)665-3346 ejjackson@utpa.edu Ms. Julie Gonzalez SBSC 315 (956)665-3341 jagonzalez6@utpa.edu Mr. Robert L. Hays SBSC 230 (956)665-8061 haysr@utpa.edu
    • BA/BS in Psychology Psychology is the social-scientific field that studies human behavior and mental processes such as thoughts and feelings. It embraces a diversity of topics: mental disorders, psychotherapy, learning, early childhood development, stress, interactions between mind and body, animal behavior, the influence of other people on our own behavior, personality, sleep and dreaming, and brain injury.
    • Major/Minor in Psychology Psychologists strive to understand people better and to use their understanding to improve the human condition. Therefore, students who enter this field become naturally inquisitive and curious about human patterns of behavior including the way the mind works. Individual interests may vary, but overall psychology gives students answers to questions they have about themselves and others.
    • Major/Minor in Psychology The Department offers degree programs at both undergraduate and graduate level that foster the study of human behavior from its biological roots to its cultural context in settings that range from experimental laboratories to psychotherapy clinics to offices of international business. Students majoring in psychology may choose from either a BA or a BS degree according to their field of interest (pediatrics, crime, neurology…).
    • Psychology Faculty Dr. Philip Gasquoine EDC 1.202-A (956)665-2155 pgasquoine@utpa.edu Dr. James W. Aldridge Jr. SBSC 352 (956)665-3325 jaldridge@utpa.edu Dr. Edna Alfaro EDC 1.220 (956)665-2662 ecalfaro@utpa.edu Dr. Grant Benham SBSC 354 (956)665-7342 gbenham@utpa.edu Dr. Kristin L. Croyle SBSC 234 (956)665-7917 kcroyle@utpa.edu Dr. Rusell Eisenman SBSC 363 (956)665-3327 eisenman@utpa.edu Dr. Frederick Ernst SBSC 358 (956)665-3323 fernst@utpa.edu Dr. Genaro E. Gonzalez SBSC 339 (956)665-5022 ggonzalez@utpa.edu Dr. Michiyo Hirai SBSC 369 (956)665-2638 hiraim@utpa.edu Dr. Valerie J-Albridge SBSC 345 (956)665-3330 wjames@utpa.edu Dr. Jerwen Jou SBSC 365 (956)665-2689 jjou@utpa.edu Mr. Gary Leka SBSC 359 (956)665-3329 leka@utpa.edu Dr. Gary T. Montgomery SBSC 234 (956)665-2967 gtm6b5e@utpa.edu Dr. Darrin Rogers EDC 1.218 (956)665-2866 drogers1@utpa.edu Dr. Amy Weimer EDC 1.202B (956)665-2650 aweimer@utpa.edu Dr. Mark H. Winkel SBSC 349 (956)665-3328 winkelm@utpa.edu
    • BS in Sociology For sociologists, human behavior is powerfully influenced by social situations and the understandings or meanings humans share (culture). Social situations such as crime and racism, for example, are “social forces” that exert pressure on people to behave in ways that may even run counter to their personalities. Sociologists, in fact, can examine deeply why social forces are higher for some social groups than for others.
    • Major/Minor in Sociology Over the past 100 or so years, sociological research has produced an extensive body of knowledge, much of which is taught in other disciplines such as business, education, criminal justice, counseling, and medicine. Sociologists have also been at the forefront in developing scientific methods of research, including survey research, opinion polls, participant observation, and focus groups.
    • Major/Minor in Sociology A BA in sociology is an excellent preparation for positions in business, social service, and government. Employers in these fields appreciate the skills and the knowledge that sociology provides. It also offers valuable preparation for careers in journalism, politics, public relations, criminal justice, business, or public administration. provides a broad liberal arts base for professions such as law, education, social work, and counseling.
    • Sociology Faculty Dr. Miguel Diaz-Barriga SBSC 344 (956)665-2377 diazbarrigam@utpa.edu Dr. Raymond S. Guerra SBSC 338 (956)665-3339 rsg6faa@utpa.edu Dr. Uzzer Raajpoot SBSC 338 (956)665-2367 uzzerraajpoot@yahoo.com Dr. Jorialyssa Sechrist (956)665-7843 sechristjc@utpa.edu Dr. Dejun Su SBSC 341 (956)665-8798 dsu@utpa.edu Dr. Guang-zhen Wang SBSC 344 (956)665-3322 gzwang@utpa.edu Dr. Igor Ryabov SBS 342-A ryabovi@utpa.edu (956)665-7874 Dr. Stephen Merino SBSC 324 merinosm@utpa.edu (956)665-3579 Chad Richardson Professor Emiritus (956)687-5692
    • BS in Criminal Justice Criminal justice is a social science that attempts to identify the patterns of criminal behavior as analyzing society's ability to control crime and security. It studies crime, criminals, and the criminal justice system through an interdisciplinary approach that combines legal studies, sociology, political science, psychology, forensic science, public administration, urban studies, and philosophy.
    • Major/Minor in Criminal Justice Criminal justice focuses on the definitions, causes, and prevention of crime, and with legal processes and the treatment and rehabilitation of offenders. Students majoring in Criminal Justice learn about the legal and correction systems in the United States, the philosophy of punishment and deterrence of crimes, and the ethical codes of behavior with which to make use of this knowledge.
    • Major/Minor in Criminal Justice The Department of Criminal Justice prepares students in the knowledge, skills and critical thinking needed to enter such careers as law enforcement, probation, institutional corrections, youth services and police management at all levels of government. The well-rounded academic experience provided by the Department serves as a strong foundation for those interested in graduate study in the social sciences.
    • Criminal Justice Faculty Dr. Daniel Dearth dkd@panam.edu SBS 343 Dr. Philip Ethridge pethridge@panam.edu SBS 337 Dr. Mark Dantzker mldantz@panam.edu SBS 353 Dr. Joseph Appiahene-G appiahen@panam.edu SBS 319 Dr. Rosalva Resendiz resendiz@panam.edu SBS 361 Dr. George Vincentnathan gvincent@panam.edu SBS 321 Dr. Lynn Vincentnathan lvincent@panam.edu SBS 330 Mr. Stanley Gonzalez sgonz@panam.edu SBS 332 Dr. Thomas White twhite@utpa.edu SBS 320 Mr. Robert Lynch rdlynch@panam.edu SBS 367 Mr. George Bowe grbowe@utpa.edu SBS 334
    • Options for SBS Sophomores As Sophomore, you’re on time to decide whether course an additional major or incorporate 1 or 2 minors in your current major. The main points of this presentation are: - To introduce the College of Social and Behavioral Sciences and its Departments. - To explain specifically every major and what a sophomore can do in case one is choosing a SBS major/minor. - To provide faculty contact information for purposes of counceling and advisement.
    • Take advantage of your Sophomore year! You’re still on time to choose what other majors/minors you want to mix with your major. Have a nice day!