UCC-ERI Flash Presentation
       FP7 Environment National Information Day 2010




UCC Flash Presentation   FP7 Environme...
About the Environmental Research Institute




                                Established in 2000 to bring together envir...
Research at the ERI



      Energy                                Environment                                       Marin...
ERI Metrics


  More than 200 Researchers (Environment, Marine, Renewable Energy)
  53 Tenured Academic Staff (6 Professor...
Activity 6.1 Climate Change,
                                     Pollution and Risks

  UCC/ERI researchers interested Ac...
Activity 6.2 Sustainable
                                     Management of Resources
  UCC/ERI researchers interested Act...
Activity 6.3 Environmental
                                       Technologies
 UCC/ERI researchers interested Activity 6....
Activity 6.4 Earth Observation and
                               Assessment tools for Sustainable
                       ...
ERI Contact Information




                         Email: p.bolger@ucc.ie
                         Web: http://eri.ucc.i...
Upcoming SlideShare
Loading in …5
×

UCC Environmental Research Institute: Overview and Contact Points

1,422
-1

Published on

This presentation is from the EPA's FP7 Environment National Information Day 2010. For further information, see http://www.fp7ireland.com/

Published in: Technology, Education
0 Comments
0 Likes
Statistics
Notes
  • Be the first to comment

  • Be the first to like this

No Downloads
Views
Total Views
1,422
On Slideshare
0
From Embeds
0
Number of Embeds
0
Actions
Shares
0
Downloads
0
Comments
0
Likes
0
Embeds 0
No embeds

No notes for slide

UCC Environmental Research Institute: Overview and Contact Points

  1. 1. UCC-ERI Flash Presentation FP7 Environment National Information Day 2010 UCC Flash Presentation FP7 Environment National Information Day 2010 October 6th, 2010
  2. 2. About the Environmental Research Institute Established in 2000 to bring together environmental researchers from 15 departments and 4 research centres under one Institute. ERI Mission “To create a multidisciplinary research and postgraduate training environment where researchers can readily collaborate to study and produce solutions to the complex environmental challenges we face as a society” • To foster collaborative, multidisciplinary research • Facilitate the development of a number of key research thematic areas • Train researchers for careers in the environmental sciences and engineering • Enhance innovation and commercialisation of research outputs UCC Flash Presentation FP7 Environment National Information Day 2010 October 6th, 2010
  3. 3. Research at the ERI Energy Environment Marine Five research pillars Four centres of excellence Environmental Chemistry Aquaculture and Fisheries Development Ctr Biodiversity & Ecotoxicology Coastal and Marine Resources Centre Marine & Freshwater Research Hydraulics & Maritime Research Centre Sustainable Energy & Environmental Engineering Aquatic Services Unit Environmental Microbial Genomics “Blue Skies” Applied Contract UCC Flash Presentation FP7 Environment National Information Day 2010 October 6th, 2010
  4. 4. ERI Metrics More than 200 Researchers (Environment, Marine, Renewable Energy) 53 Tenured Academic Staff (6 Professors, 9 Assoc. Prof, 18 Senior Lecturers, 20 Lecturers). 75 Postdoctoral researchers and research staff 78 PhD and Master students Funding: Over past 5 years Institute researchers have been awarded over €34 M in recurrent funding. Research output: 670 peer reviewed research papers (2003-2008) (2003- Post- Post-Graduate Supervision: Over 95 PhD and 110 MSc students have been successfully supervised UCC Research Quality Review (2009): Institute awarded the highest score of Level 5 i.e. research of a quality that is of world-leading i.e. world- standard (“a high level of inter-disciplinary research” “world-class (“a inter- world- facilities” “leaders facilities” “leaders in their field”) field”) UCC Flash Presentation FP7 Environment National Information Day 2010 October 6th, 2010
  5. 5. Activity 6.1 Climate Change, Pollution and Risks UCC/ERI researchers interested Activity 6.1 topics – please feel free to contact them at the email contact addresses given below Areas of Interest in Activity 6.1 by ERI/UCC Researchers Subtheme Researchers ENV.2011.1.1.2-1 The impact of atmospheric Dr Andy Ruth (a.ruth@ucc.ie) pollution on European land ecosystems and soil …. Dr Dean Venables (d.venables@ucc.ie) ENV.2011.1.1.2-2 Climate forcing of non UNFCCC Dr Dean Venables (d.venables@ucc.ie) gases, aerosols and black carbon. ENV.2011.1.1.6-2 Scientific support to the EU Dr Andy Ruth (a.ruth@ucc.ie) climate monitoring mechanism and development of Dr Dean Venables (d.venables@ucc.ie) Monitoring, Reporting and Verifying methods…….. Prof Ger Kiely (g.kiely@ucc.ie) ENV.2011.1.2.1-1 Environmental change and its Prof John Sodeau (j.sodeau@ucc.ie) effects on atopic diseases (allergies, asthma,……… Dr Eric Moore (eric.moore@tyndall.ie) ENV.2011.1.2.3-1 Integrating ecological and human Prof David Sheehan (d.sheehan@ucc.ie) risk evaluations for better risk governance ENV.2011.1.2.3-2 Positive effects of natural Dr Eric Moore (eric.moore@tyndall.ie) environment for human health and well-being. UCC Flash Presentation FP7 Environment National Information Day 2010 October 6th, 2010
  6. 6. Activity 6.2 Sustainable Management of Resources UCC/ERI researchers interested Activity 6.2 topics – please feel free to contact them at the email contact addresses given below Areas of Interest in Activity 6.2 by ERI/UCC Researchers Subtheme Researchers ENV.2011.2.2.1-1 Lagoons in the context of Dr Debbie Chapman (d.chapman@ucc.ie) climate change. Dr Mark Emmerson (m.emmerson@ucc.ie) Dr Rob McAllen (r.mcallen@ucc.ie) Dr Ruth Ramsay (r.oriordan@ucc.ie) ENV.2011.2.1.2-1 Hydromorphology and Dr Debbie Chapman (d.chapman@ucc.ie) ecological objectives of WFD. Dr Simon Harrison (s.harrison@ucc.ie) ENV.2011.2.1.4-2 Behaviour of ecosystems, Dr Mark Emmerson (m.emmerson@ucc.ie) thresholds and tipping points. Dr Tom Doyle (t.doyle@ucc.ie) Dr Mark Jessop (m.jessop@ucc.ie) Dr Michelle Cronin (m.cronin@ucc.ie) ENV.2011.2.1.6-1 Land-use and European forest Prof. John O’Halloran (j.ohalloran@ucc.ie) ecosystems. Dr Simon Harrison (s.harrison@ucc.ie) OCEAN.2011-2: Marine microbial diversity – new Prof Alan Dobson (a.dobson@ucc.ie) insights into marine ecosystems functioning and Prof John Benzie (j.benzie@ucc.ie) its biotechnological potential UCC Flash Presentation FP7 Environment National Information Day 2010 October 6th, 2010
  7. 7. Activity 6.3 Environmental Technologies UCC/ERI researchers interested Activity 6.3 topics – please feel free to contact them at the email contact addresses given below Areas of Interest in Activity 6.3 by ERI/UCC Researchers Subtheme Researchers EeB.ENV.2011.3.1.5.1 Technologies for Dr Justin Holmes (j.holmes@ucc.ie) ensuring, monitoring and/or controlling a Prof Karsten Menzel (k.menzel@ucc.ie) high quality indoor environment (including Dr Brendan O’Flynn (brendan.oflynn@tyndall.ie) comfort, health, safety, accessibility…. Dr James Rohan (james.rohan@tyndall.ie) GC.ENV.2011-3.1.3-1 Advanced eco-design Dr Justin Holmes (j.holmes@ucc.ie) and manufacturing processes for batteries Dr Lorraine Nagle (lorraine.nagle@tyndall.ie) and electrical components Dr James Rohan (james.rohan@tyndall.ie) ENV.2011.3.1.9-1 Eco-innovation! Dr Dean Venables (d.venables@ucc.ie) Eeb-NMP.2011-2 New efficient solutions for Dr Paul Leahy (p.leahy@ucc.ie) energy generation, storage and use Dr Brendan O’Flynn (brendan.oflynn@tyndall.ie) Eeb-NMP.2011-3 Energy saving technologies Dr Brendan O’Flynn (brendan.oflynn@tyndall.ie) for building energy retro-fitting Eeb-ICT.2011.6.4 ICT for energy efficient Dr Brendan O’Flynn (brendan.oflynn@tyndall.ie) buildings and spaces of public use Dr James Rohan (james.rohan@tyndall.ie) UCC Flash Presentation FP7 Environment National Information Day 2010 October 6th, 2010
  8. 8. Activity 6.4 Earth Observation and Assessment tools for Sustainable Development UCC/ERI researchers interested Activity 6.4 topics – please feel free to contact them at the email contact addresses given below Areas of Interest in Activity 6.4 by ERI/UCC Researchers Subtheme Researchers ENV.2011.4.1.1 Integration and optimisation of Prof Ger Kiely (g.kiely@ucc.ie) information for building a Global Carbon Observing System. ENV.2011.4.1.3 Inter-operable integration of Dr Ned Dwyer (n.dwyer@ucc.ie) shared Earth Observations in the Global Context. ENV.2011.4.2.3-2 Sustainable Consumption Dr Colin Sage (c.sage@ucc.ie) and Production at the heart of green growth. UCC Flash Presentation FP7 Environment National Information Day 2010 October 6th, 2010
  9. 9. ERI Contact Information Email: p.bolger@ucc.ie Web: http://eri.ucc.ie Telephone: 00-353-(0)21-4901931 Fax: 00-353-(0)21-4901932 Environmental Research Institute, University College Cork, Lee Road, Cork city UCC Flash Presentation FP7 Environment National Information Day 2010 October 6th, 2010

×