Your SlideShare is downloading. ×
0
Performance
Reviews
Are For Babies
By Dannielle Blumenthal, Ph.D.
March 2014 | Creative Commons | Free To Reuse & Remix | ...
Young People Get
Rewards For Conformity.
“The management model
that predominates in
most organizations…was
built to maximi...
Yet Creativity Is Critical
To Address Our Complex Problems
“Today‟s organizations
must be more than well-
oiled machines; ...
Traditional Reviews Impede Creativity
By Reinforcing The Boss’s Power & Control
“The boss in the
performance review thinks...
But What If We Empowered Employees
To Speak Their Minds?
• "In a bureaucracy, people
are afraid to speak out.”
• “This typ...
Empowered Staff Question Groupthink
Through “Double-Loop Learning”
Photo by Cattias.Photos via Flickr
Anyone can evolve a ...
Critical Thinking & Creativity
Helps The Organization Learn To Survive
• “Leaders may think that getting
their organizatio...
Therefore, Performance Management
Should Be About Learning Together.
• “Step No. 1 in giving effective
feedback almost alw...
We Don’t Need Babies At Work.
We Need Thoughtful, Mature Adults.
Upcoming SlideShare
Loading in...5
×

Performance Reviews Are For Babies

226

Published on

Old-style performance reviews decrease productivity. There is a better way, we know it and it's time to implement it: a conversation aimed at growing the learning capacity of the organization.

Published in: Business
0 Comments
0 Likes
Statistics
Notes
  • Be the first to comment

  • Be the first to like this

No Downloads
Views
Total Views
226
On Slideshare
0
From Embeds
0
Number of Embeds
4
Actions
Shares
0
Downloads
1
Comments
0
Likes
0
Embeds 0
No embeds

No notes for slide

Transcript of "Performance Reviews Are For Babies"

  1. 1. Performance Reviews Are For Babies By Dannielle Blumenthal, Ph.D. March 2014 | Creative Commons | Free To Reuse & Remix | All Opinions My Own Photo by Paparuzi via Flickr
  2. 2. Young People Get Rewards For Conformity. “The management model that predominates in most organizations…was built to maximize efficiency by minimizing deviations from standard practices.” – Gary Hamel, The Wall Street Journal, 4/6/2011 Photo by U.S. Dept. of Ed. via Flickr
  3. 3. Yet Creativity Is Critical To Address Our Complex Problems “Today‟s organizations must be more than well- oiled machines; they must also be endlessly adaptive and relentlessly innovative.” – Gary Hamel, The Wall Street Journal, 4/6/2011 Photo by phxcc via Flickr
  4. 4. Traditional Reviews Impede Creativity By Reinforcing The Boss’s Power & Control “The boss in the performance review thinks of himself or herself as the evaluator, and doesn't engage in teamwork with the subordinate.” – Samuel A. CulbertThe Wall Street Journal, 10/20/08 Photo by Jan Tik via Flickr
  5. 5. But What If We Empowered Employees To Speak Their Minds? • "In a bureaucracy, people are afraid to speak out.” • “This type of environment slows you down, and it doesn't improve the workplace.” • "If you reward candor, you'll get it.” – Jack Welch, Lecture, Stanford Graduate School of Business, 4/27/2005 Photo by Thompson Rivers via Flickr
  6. 6. Empowered Staff Question Groupthink Through “Double-Loop Learning” Photo by Cattias.Photos via Flickr Anyone can evolve a logo. Few can question its basis.
  7. 7. Critical Thinking & Creativity Helps The Organization Learn To Survive • “Leaders may think that getting their organizations to learn is only a matter of articulating a clear vision, giving employees the right incentives, and providing lots of training.” • “This assumption is not merely flawed—it‟s risky….Each company must become a learning organization.” • - David A. Garvin, Amy C. Edmondson, and Francesca Gino, Harvard Business Review, March 2008 Photo by FNGKestrel via Flickr
  8. 8. Therefore, Performance Management Should Be About Learning Together. • “Step No. 1 in giving effective feedback almost always involves „active questioning‟ inquiry.” • “Themost significant issue at hand: „Given who I am and what I'm learning about this other individual, what's the best way for us to complement one another in getting work accomplished with excellence?‟” • “If in the process the other person decides to change and develop, so much the better.” – Samuel A. CulbertThe Wall Street Journal, 10/20/08 Photo by Peter Nijenjjuit via Flickr
  9. 9. We Don’t Need Babies At Work. We Need Thoughtful, Mature Adults.
  1. A particular slide catching your eye?

    Clipping is a handy way to collect important slides you want to go back to later.

×