Your SlideShare is downloading. ×
0
HDC / Making the world more active.  ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved.   1Thursday, February 16, 2012
HDC / Making the world more active.                                                           Digital Marketing & ROI  ©Co...
HDC / Making the world more active.  ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved.   2Thursday, February 16, 2012
HDC / Making the world more active.     Overview                                                           •Defining ROI   ...
HDC / Making the world more active.  ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved.   3Thursday, February 16, 2012
HDC / Making the world more active.               Defining ROI  ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved.   3T...
HDC / Making the world more active.  ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved.   4Thursday, February 16, 2012
HDC / Making the world more active.     What ROI     is NOT                                                           •# F...
HDC / Making the world more active.  ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved.   5Thursday, February 16, 2012
HDC / Making the world more active.     What did     you invest?  ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved.  ...
HDC / Making the world more active.  ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved.   6Thursday, February 16, 2012
HDC / Making the world more active.     What did     you get in     return?  ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights ...
HDC / Making the world more active.  ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved.   7Thursday, February 16, 2012
HDC / Making the world more active.     What     will your                                             !"#$%&#$&(#%)#*+,# ...
HDC / Making the world more active.  ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved.   8Thursday, February 16, 2012
HDC / Making the world more active.     We don’t     work in     a vacuum  ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Re...
HDC / Making the world more active.  ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved.   9Thursday, February 16, 2012
HDC / Making the world more active.     Purchase     decisions     are     complex  ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All ...
HDC / Making the world more active.  ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved.   10Thursday, February 16, 2012
HDC / Making the world more active.     Decision     funnel (old)                                           Awareness	  	 ...
HDC / Making the world more active.  ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved.   11Thursday, February 16, 2012
HDC / Making the world more active.     Decision     funnel     (new)  ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserv...
HDC / Making the world more active.  ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved.   12Thursday, February 16, 2012
HDC / Making the world more active.              Defining Objectives  ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved...
HDC / Making the world more active.  ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved.   13Thursday, February 16, 2012
HDC / Making the world more active.     What’s                                                How will you know if you suc...
HDC / Making the world more active.                                                           Augie Ray                   ...
HDC / Making the world more active.     Defining     your     objectives                                                   ...
HDC / Making the world more active.  ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved.   15Thursday, February 16, 2012
HDC / Making the world more active.     Financial     objectives                                                          ...
HDC / Making the world more active.  ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved.   16Thursday, February 16, 2012
HDC / Making the world more active.     Increase     Revenue                                                           •In...
HDC / Making the world more active.  ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved.   17Thursday, February 16, 2012
HDC / Making the world more active.     Decrease                                                           •Reduction in c...
HDC / Making the world more active.  ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved.   18Thursday, February 16, 2012
HDC / Making the world more active.     Brand                                                 •Awareness     objectives   ...
HDC / Making the world more active.  ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved.   19Thursday, February 16, 2012
HDC / Making the world more active.     Risk     management     objectives                                       •Reductio...
HDC / Making the world more active.  ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved.   20Thursday, February 16, 2012
HDC / Making the world more active.     Digital     objectives                                            •Enhanced owned ...
HDC / Making the world more active.  ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved.   21Thursday, February 16, 2012
HDC / Making the world more active.               Measurement  ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved.   21...
HDC / Making the world more active.  ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved.   22Thursday, February 16, 2012
HDC / Making the world more active.     What’s     everyone     else     measuring?  ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All...
HDC / Making the world more active.  ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved.   23Thursday, February 16, 2012
HDC / Making the world more active.     What’s most     important?  ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved....
HDC / Making the world more active.  ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved.   24Thursday, February 16, 2012
HDC / Making the world more active.     Measurement     models                                                           •...
HDC / Making the world more active.  ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved.   25Thursday, February 16, 2012
HDC / Making the world more active.     Pick an     objective.     Measure it.                                           •...
HDC / Making the world more active.  ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved.   26Thursday, February 16, 2012
HDC / Making the world more active.                                                              “Can we literally sell ou...
HDC / Making the world more active.  ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved.   27Thursday, February 16, 2012
HDC / Making the world more active.     Identify     success                                        •Define success: sum of...
HDC / Making the world more active.     Identify     success                                        •Define success: sum of...
HDC / Making the world more active.  ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved.   28Thursday, February 16, 2012
HDC / Making the world more active.     Measure it                                                           • What were t...
HDC / Making the world more active.                                                                            r          ...
HDC / Making the world more active.                                                                                r      ...
HDC / Making the world more active.                                                                            r          ...
HDC / Making the world more active.                                                                                r      ...
HDC / Making the world more active.                                                                            r          ...
HDC / Making the world more active.                                                                                r      ...
HDC / Making the world more active.  ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved.   32Thursday, February 16, 2012
HDC / Making the world more active.     Simple     calculation  ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved.   3...
HDC / Making the world more active.  ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved.   33Thursday, February 16, 2012
HDC / Making the world more active.     Simple     calculation                                                           (...
HDC / Making the world more active.  ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved.   34Thursday, February 16, 2012
HDC / Making the world more active.     Complex     calculation  ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved.   ...
HDC / Making the world more active.  ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved.   35Thursday, February 16, 2012
HDC / Making the world more active.     Complex     calculation                                                           ...
HDC / Making the world more active.  ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved.   36Thursday, February 16, 2012
HDC / Making the world more active.               Case Studies  ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved.   3...
HDC / Making the world more active.  ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved.   37Thursday, February 16, 2012
HDC / Making the world more active.     Customer     service                                                           • U...
HDC / Making the world more active.  ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved.   38Thursday, February 16, 2012
HDC / Making the world more active.     Cisco social     product     launch                                               ...
HDC / Making the world more active.  ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved.   39Thursday, February 16, 2012
HDC / Making the world more active.     Launch     costs                                                           • 9,000...
HDC / Making the world more active.  ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved.   40Thursday, February 16, 2012
HDC / Making the world more active.                                                           Objective: Increase brand aw...
HDC / Making the world more active.                                                           )2/(((%                     ...
HDC / Making the world more active.                                                           Success Metrics:            ...
HDC / Making the world more active.  ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved.   42Thursday, February 16, 2012
HDC / Making the world more active.               Tools  ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved.   42Thursd...
HDC / Making the world more active.  ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved.   43Thursday, February 16, 2012
HDC / Making the world more active.     Aggregated     metrics                                                           •...
HDC / Making the world more active.  ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved.   44Thursday, February 16, 2012
HDC / Making the world more active.     Want vs.     need                                                  • Search / Aggr...
HDC / Making the world more active.  ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved.   45Thursday, February 16, 2012
HDC / Making the world more active.     Want vs.     need  ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved.   45Thur...
HDC / Making the world more active.  ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved.   46Thursday, February 16, 2012
HDC / Making the world more active.     Want vs.     need  ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved.   46Thur...
HDC / Making the world more active.  ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved.   47Thursday, February 16, 2012
HDC / Making the world more active.     No     one-button     solution  ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reser...
HDC / Making the world more active.  ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved.   48Thursday, February 16, 2012
HDC / Making the world more active.     Constant     change  ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved.   48Th...
HDC / Making the world more active.  ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved.   49Thursday, February 16, 2012
HDC / Making the world more active.                                                    1.Leads generated     10 Metrics   ...
HDC / Making the world more active.                                                    1.Leads generated     10 Metrics   ...
HDC / Making the world more active.                                                    1.Leads generated     10 Metrics   ...
HDC / Making the world more active.                                                    1.Leads generated     10 Metrics   ...
HDC / Making the world more active.                                                    1.Leads generated     10 Metrics   ...
HDC / Making the world more active.                                                    1.Leads generated     10 Metrics   ...
HDC / Making the world more active.                                                    1.Leads generated     10 Metrics   ...
HDC / Making the world more active.                                                    1.Leads generated     10 Metrics   ...
HDC / Making the world more active.                                                    1.Leads generated     10 Metrics   ...
HDC / Making the world more active.                                                    1.Leads generated     10 Metrics   ...
HDC / Making the world more active.  ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved.   50Thursday, February 16, 2012
HDC / Making the world more active.                Sara Meaney                Hanson Dodge Creative                Preside...
HDC / Making the world more active.  ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved.Thursday, February 16, 2012
HDC / Making the world more active.            MAKING THE WORLD MORE ACTIVE.                          ™            Hanson ...
Upcoming SlideShare
Loading in...5
×

Digital Marketing and ROI - Colorado BMA

1,398

Published on

In this talk from the Colorado Business Marketing Association, February 08, 2012, Sara Meaney helps to define what ROI really means for your specific campaigns and how to become more exact in measuring the success of using free online tools.

Published in: Business, Education, Sports
0 Comments
0 Likes
Statistics
Notes
  • Be the first to comment

  • Be the first to like this

No Downloads
Views
Total Views
1,398
On Slideshare
0
From Embeds
0
Number of Embeds
1
Actions
Shares
0
Downloads
27
Comments
0
Likes
0
Embeds 0
No embeds

No notes for slide
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • \n
  • Transcript of "Digital Marketing and ROI - Colorado BMA"

    1. 1. HDC / Making the world more active. ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved. 1Thursday, February 16, 2012
    2. 2. HDC / Making the world more active. Digital Marketing & ROI ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved. 1Thursday, February 16, 2012
    3. 3. HDC / Making the world more active. ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved. 2Thursday, February 16, 2012
    4. 4. HDC / Making the world more active. Overview •Defining ROI •Define objectives •Measure them •Case studies •Tools •Q&A ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved. 2Thursday, February 16, 2012
    5. 5. HDC / Making the world more active. ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved. 3Thursday, February 16, 2012
    6. 6. HDC / Making the world more active. Defining ROI ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved. 3Thursday, February 16, 2012
    7. 7. HDC / Making the world more active. ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved. 4Thursday, February 16, 2012
    8. 8. HDC / Making the world more active. What ROI is NOT •# Fans •# ReTweets •Total Impressions •Ad equivalency calculations •# Post views, clicks, likes, comments or burps •These are key METRICS. But they are not ROI. ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved. 4Thursday, February 16, 2012
    9. 9. HDC / Making the world more active. ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved. 5Thursday, February 16, 2012
    10. 10. HDC / Making the world more active. What did you invest? ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved. 5Thursday, February 16, 2012
    11. 11. HDC / Making the world more active. ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved. 6Thursday, February 16, 2012
    12. 12. HDC / Making the world more active. What did you get in return? ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved. 6Thursday, February 16, 2012
    13. 13. HDC / Making the world more active. ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved. 7Thursday, February 16, 2012
    14. 14. HDC / Making the world more active. What will your !"#$%&#$&(#%)#*+,# "-#%.(#/("0.&1#2)3.&4# answer be? %.56#"-#$%.0%#7"8# (9)&:;# ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved. 7Thursday, February 16, 2012
    15. 15. HDC / Making the world more active. ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved. 8Thursday, February 16, 2012
    16. 16. HDC / Making the world more active. We don’t work in a vacuum ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved. 8Thursday, February 16, 2012
    17. 17. HDC / Making the world more active. ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved. 9Thursday, February 16, 2012
    18. 18. HDC / Making the world more active. Purchase decisions are complex ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved. 9Thursday, February 16, 2012
    19. 19. HDC / Making the world more active. ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved. 10Thursday, February 16, 2012
    20. 20. HDC / Making the world more active. Decision funnel (old) Awareness      Considera-on    Preference      Ac-on      Loyalty ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved. 10Thursday, February 16, 2012
    21. 21. HDC / Making the world more active. ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved. 11Thursday, February 16, 2012
    22. 22. HDC / Making the world more active. Decision funnel (new) ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved. 11Thursday, February 16, 2012
    23. 23. HDC / Making the world more active. ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved. 12Thursday, February 16, 2012
    24. 24. HDC / Making the world more active. Defining Objectives ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved. 12Thursday, February 16, 2012
    25. 25. HDC / Making the world more active. ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved. 13Thursday, February 16, 2012
    26. 26. HDC / Making the world more active. What’s How will you know if you succeeded? the point? What are you trying to do? How will you measure it? You can’t do everything. Focus. ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved. 13Thursday, February 16, 2012
    27. 27. HDC / Making the world more active. Augie Ray Forrester Research ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved. 14Thursday, February 16, 2012
    28. 28. HDC / Making the world more active. Defining your objectives Augie Ray Forrester Research ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved. 14Thursday, February 16, 2012
    29. 29. HDC / Making the world more active. ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved. 15Thursday, February 16, 2012
    30. 30. HDC / Making the world more active. Financial objectives Revenue Cost ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved. 15Thursday, February 16, 2012
    31. 31. HDC / Making the world more active. ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved. 16Thursday, February 16, 2012
    32. 32. HDC / Making the world more active. Increase Revenue •Increased product sales •Increased ancillary service sales ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved. 16Thursday, February 16, 2012
    33. 33. HDC / Making the world more active. ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved. 17Thursday, February 16, 2012
    34. 34. HDC / Making the world more active. Decrease •Reduction in customer acquisition cost costs •Reduction in customer service cost •Reduction in cost to innovate •Reduction in returns ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved. 17Thursday, February 16, 2012
    35. 35. HDC / Making the world more active. ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved. 18Thursday, February 16, 2012
    36. 36. HDC / Making the world more active. Brand •Awareness objectives •Sentiment •Word of mouth •Loyalty •Recruitment / Talent retention ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved. 18Thursday, February 16, 2012
    37. 37. HDC / Making the world more active. ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved. 19Thursday, February 16, 2012
    38. 38. HDC / Making the world more active. Risk management objectives •Reduction in exposure to risk •Improvement in response effectiveness •Speed of response ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved. 19Thursday, February 16, 2012
    39. 39. HDC / Making the world more active. ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved. 20Thursday, February 16, 2012
    40. 40. HDC / Making the world more active. Digital objectives •Enhanced owned and earned assets •Search / findability ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved. 20Thursday, February 16, 2012
    41. 41. HDC / Making the world more active. ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved. 21Thursday, February 16, 2012
    42. 42. HDC / Making the world more active. Measurement ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved. 21Thursday, February 16, 2012
    43. 43. HDC / Making the world more active. ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved. 22Thursday, February 16, 2012
    44. 44. HDC / Making the world more active. What’s everyone else measuring? ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved. 22Thursday, February 16, 2012
    45. 45. HDC / Making the world more active. ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved. 23Thursday, February 16, 2012
    46. 46. HDC / Making the world more active. What’s most important? ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved. 23Thursday, February 16, 2012
    47. 47. HDC / Making the world more active. ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved. 24Thursday, February 16, 2012
    48. 48. HDC / Making the world more active. Measurement models •PR / Advertising model •CLV (Customer Lifetime Value) •SEO model •Customer service / satisfaction ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved. 24Thursday, February 16, 2012
    49. 49. HDC / Making the world more active. ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved. 25Thursday, February 16, 2012
    50. 50. HDC / Making the world more active. Pick an objective. Measure it. •Identify / agree on key success metrics for this objective •Establish baseline levels •Track change •Ensure comprehensive measurement from all available data points ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved. 25Thursday, February 16, 2012
    51. 51. HDC / Making the world more active. ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved. 26Thursday, February 16, 2012
    52. 52. HDC / Making the world more active. “Can we literally sell our product or service via social media Objective: channels?” Sell more product / service YES NO Integrate purchase functionality into your social Maybe your budget or channels: technology does not allow. F-Commerce module, mobile storefront application, tracking codes, e-commerce, cookies, etc. So what CAN you do to influence purchasing Measure sales volume and behavior? calculate ROI based on cost to sell. ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved. 26Thursday, February 16, 2012
    53. 53. HDC / Making the world more active. ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved. 27Thursday, February 16, 2012
    54. 54. HDC / Making the world more active. Identify success •Define success: sum of parts = whole metrics •Let’s pick “Increase Product Awareness” •What data points would indicate success on this objective? ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved. 27Thursday, February 16, 2012
    55. 55. HDC / Making the world more active. Identify success •Define success: sum of parts = whole metrics •Let’s pick “Increase Product Awareness” •What data points would indicate success on this objective? ✓Shares of product assets (images, video, etc.) ✓Online customer reviews of product ✓Traffic to product information page ✓Social comments, likes about product ✓Product mentions in third party media ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved. 27Thursday, February 16, 2012
    56. 56. HDC / Making the world more active. ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved. 28Thursday, February 16, 2012
    57. 57. HDC / Making the world more active. Measure it • What were the baselines before digital initiatives? • Have there been other additions to the marketing mix? • What other factors could contribute to potential increases or decreases? ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved. 28Thursday, February 16, 2012
    58. 58. HDC / Making the world more active. r ________ ) CLV = GC x ( 1+d-r ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved. 29Thursday, February 16, 2012
    59. 59. HDC / Making the world more active. r ________ ) CLV: CLV = GC x ( Customer 1+d-r Lifetime Value GC: Gross contribution per customer r: annual retention rate (as a percentage) d: Discount rate, or cost of capital for the future value of a customer. Often roughly estimated w/ current interest rate. *This equation is a good estimate but doesn’t take into consideration costs to maintain a customer and assumes constant values for each variable. More complex CLV equations are required. ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved. 29Thursday, February 16, 2012
    60. 60. HDC / Making the world more active. r ________ ) CLV = GC x ( 1+d-r ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved. 30Thursday, February 16, 2012
    61. 61. HDC / Making the world more active. r ________ ) CLV: CLV = GC x ( Customer 1+d-r Lifetime Value GC = $50 per widget r = 80% d = 2.75% Then CLV = $175.82 You spent $100,000 to acquire 2,500 new customers through traditional channels. Cost per acquisition = $40 Customer acquisition ROI = ($175.82 - $40)/$40 = 339.5% ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved. 30Thursday, February 16, 2012
    62. 62. HDC / Making the world more active. r ________ ) CLV = GC x ( 1+d-r ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved. 31Thursday, February 16, 2012
    63. 63. HDC / Making the world more active. r ________ ) CLV: CLV = GC x ( Customer 1+d-r Lifetime Value GC = $50 per widget r = 80% d = 2.75% Then CLV = $175.82 You spent $75,000 to acquire 2,500 new customers through social media channels. Cost per acquisition = $30 Customer acquisition ROI = (175.82 – 30)/30 = 486.1% ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved. 31Thursday, February 16, 2012
    64. 64. HDC / Making the world more active. ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved. 32Thursday, February 16, 2012
    65. 65. HDC / Making the world more active. Simple calculation ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved. 32Thursday, February 16, 2012
    66. 66. HDC / Making the world more active. ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved. 33Thursday, February 16, 2012
    67. 67. HDC / Making the world more active. Simple calculation (Sales – Investment) ÷ Investment = %ROI Sales = $ sold via that channel or due to that channel Investment = all $ costs related to acquiring the sale: development + design of platform, time to manage or staff it, maintenance costs, advertising to drive awareness of channel, etc. ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved. 33Thursday, February 16, 2012
    68. 68. HDC / Making the world more active. ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved. 34Thursday, February 16, 2012
    69. 69. HDC / Making the world more active. Complex calculation ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved. 34Thursday, February 16, 2012
    70. 70. HDC / Making the world more active. ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved. 35Thursday, February 16, 2012
    71. 71. HDC / Making the world more active. Complex calculation (Revenue – Investment) ÷ Investment = %ROI Revenue = $ attributed to sales from leads through or assisted by digital initiatives Investment = all $ costs related to acquiring the sale: assign relevant costs to each level of lead nurturing required to close sale. Must include additional marketing, CRM, proposal development, presentation time, customer service activities, etc. ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved. 35Thursday, February 16, 2012
    72. 72. HDC / Making the world more active. ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved. 36Thursday, February 16, 2012
    73. 73. HDC / Making the world more active. Case Studies ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved. 36Thursday, February 16, 2012
    74. 74. HDC / Making the world more active. ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved. 37Thursday, February 16, 2012
    75. 75. HDC / Making the world more active. Customer service • Used Helpstream (defunct) as CS portal • Before: 1 rep to 55 customers, 77% satisfaction rating • After: 1 rep to 172 customers, 87% satisfaction rating • Cost reduction: $millions • Satisfaction rating: up 13% ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved. 37Thursday, February 16, 2012
    76. 76. HDC / Making the world more active. ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved. 38Thursday, February 16, 2012
    77. 77. HDC / Making the world more active. Cisco social product launch •Comprehensive launch program for a new router -Second Life -Facebook -3D gaming -Social news releases -YouTube -Blog -Video conference -Tech Community -Mobile datasheet ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved. 38Thursday, February 16, 2012
    78. 78. HDC / Making the world more active. ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved. 39Thursday, February 16, 2012
    79. 79. HDC / Making the world more active. Launch costs • 9,000 people attended virtually = 90x more attendees than in the past • Saved 42,000 gallons of gas • 300% more media coverage than traditional outreach methods • More than 1,000 blog posts and 40 million online impressions • 1/6 the cost of a traditional launch • Saved $100,000 ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved. 39Thursday, February 16, 2012
    80. 80. HDC / Making the world more active. ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved. 40Thursday, February 16, 2012
    81. 81. HDC / Making the world more active. Objective: Increase brand awareness for Wilson Basketball and its NCAA Brand Tournament affiliation awareness Success Metrics: Impressions Engagement Community Growth Conversion to website ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved. 40Thursday, February 16, 2012
    82. 82. HDC / Making the world more active. )2/(((% Visits to Wilson.com/Basketball (all traffic 2011 vs. 2010) )/(((% )(/(((% 4/(((% !"#"$#%&%())*%+,-*%./01% !"#"$#%&%()(% !"#"$#%&%())% 3/(((% 2/(((% /(((% (% 567% 8,9% :6;% <-;% :6=% 5>7% 5>?% <>@% +,-% AB$% CDE% F,B% ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved. 41Thursday, February 16, 2012
    83. 83. HDC / Making the world more active. Success Metrics: Impressions Engagement Community Growth Conversion to website Brand Outcomes: awareness -50 million Facebook Impressions in 24 days. -Product page website traffic up 44% over previous month and 77% over March 2010. -Facebook became #2 source of all traffic to Wilson.com/ Basketball, after Wilson.com -Community grew from 0 to 23,200 in 24 days. -Feedback avg of .45% outpaced Facebook average .29% by 150% )2/(((% Visits to Wilson.com/Basketball (all traffic 2011 vs. 2010) )/(((% )(/(((% 4/(((% !"#"$#%&%())*%+,-*%./01% !"#"$#%&%()(% !"#"$#%&%())% 3/(((% 2/(((% /(((% (% 567% 8,9% :6;% <-;% :6=% 5>7% 5>?% <>@% +,-% AB$% CDE% F,B% ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved. 41Thursday, February 16, 2012
    84. 84. HDC / Making the world more active. ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved. 42Thursday, February 16, 2012
    85. 85. HDC / Making the world more active. Tools ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved. 42Thursday, February 16, 2012
    86. 86. HDC / Making the world more active. ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved. 43Thursday, February 16, 2012
    87. 87. HDC / Making the world more active. Aggregated metrics • Most tools make gathering and processing easier • Some include distribution • Some include analysis • Some make pretty pictures • They (nearly) all cost money ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved. 43Thursday, February 16, 2012
    88. 88. HDC / Making the world more active. ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved. 44Thursday, February 16, 2012
    89. 89. HDC / Making the world more active. Want vs. need • Search / Aggregate mentions • Moderate conversation • Schedule / Publish content • Engagement management • Measure / Analyze • Language / Translation • Gamification / sweepstakes tools • Pricing model ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved. 44Thursday, February 16, 2012
    90. 90. HDC / Making the world more active. ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved. 45Thursday, February 16, 2012
    91. 91. HDC / Making the world more active. Want vs. need ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved. 45Thursday, February 16, 2012
    92. 92. HDC / Making the world more active. ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved. 46Thursday, February 16, 2012
    93. 93. HDC / Making the world more active. Want vs. need ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved. 46Thursday, February 16, 2012
    94. 94. HDC / Making the world more active. ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved. 47Thursday, February 16, 2012
    95. 95. HDC / Making the world more active. No one-button solution ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved. 47Thursday, February 16, 2012
    96. 96. HDC / Making the world more active. ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved. 48Thursday, February 16, 2012
    97. 97. HDC / Making the world more active. Constant change ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved. 48Thursday, February 16, 2012
    98. 98. HDC / Making the world more active. ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved. 49Thursday, February 16, 2012
    99. 99. HDC / Making the world more active. 1.Leads generated 10 Metrics to watch ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved. 49Thursday, February 16, 2012
    100. 100. HDC / Making the world more active. 1.Leads generated 10 Metrics 2.Website bounce rate to watch ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved. 49Thursday, February 16, 2012
    101. 101. HDC / Making the world more active. 1.Leads generated 10 Metrics 2.Website bounce rate to watch 3.Website behavior ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved. 49Thursday, February 16, 2012
    102. 102. HDC / Making the world more active. 1.Leads generated 10 Metrics 2.Website bounce rate to watch 3.Website behavior 4.Growth of active network / engaged base ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved. 49Thursday, February 16, 2012
    103. 103. HDC / Making the world more active. 1.Leads generated 10 Metrics 2.Website bounce rate to watch 3.Website behavior 4.Growth of active network / engaged base 5.Brand mentions across social platforms ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved. 49Thursday, February 16, 2012
    104. 104. HDC / Making the world more active. 1.Leads generated 10 Metrics 2.Website bounce rate to watch 3.Website behavior 4.Growth of active network / engaged base 5.Brand mentions across social platforms 6.Website visitors and sources of traffic ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved. 49Thursday, February 16, 2012
    105. 105. HDC / Making the world more active. 1.Leads generated 10 Metrics 2.Website bounce rate to watch 3.Website behavior 4.Growth of active network / engaged base 5.Brand mentions across social platforms 6.Website visitors and sources of traffic 7.Conversion: subscriptions, email lists, etc. ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved. 49Thursday, February 16, 2012
    106. 106. HDC / Making the world more active. 1.Leads generated 10 Metrics 2.Website bounce rate to watch 3.Website behavior 4.Growth of active network / engaged base 5.Brand mentions across social platforms 6.Website visitors and sources of traffic 7.Conversion: subscriptions, email lists, etc. 8.Time spent engaging: apps, time on site, etc. ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved. 49Thursday, February 16, 2012
    107. 107. HDC / Making the world more active. 1.Leads generated 10 Metrics 2.Website bounce rate to watch 3.Website behavior 4.Growth of active network / engaged base 5.Brand mentions across social platforms 6.Website visitors and sources of traffic 7.Conversion: subscriptions, email lists, etc. 8.Time spent engaging: apps, time on site, etc. 9.Engagement ratio: active network / total network ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved. 49Thursday, February 16, 2012
    108. 108. HDC / Making the world more active. 1.Leads generated 10 Metrics 2.Website bounce rate to watch 3.Website behavior 4.Growth of active network / engaged base 5.Brand mentions across social platforms 6.Website visitors and sources of traffic 7.Conversion: subscriptions, email lists, etc. 8.Time spent engaging: apps, time on site, etc. 9.Engagement ratio: active network / total network 10.Viral engagement: sharing, “people talking” ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved. 49Thursday, February 16, 2012
    109. 109. HDC / Making the world more active. ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved. 50Thursday, February 16, 2012
    110. 110. HDC / Making the world more active. Sara Meaney Hanson Dodge Creative President, Strategy & Growth February 8, 2012 smeaney@hansondodge.com hansondodge.com ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved. 50Thursday, February 16, 2012
    111. 111. HDC / Making the world more active. ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved.Thursday, February 16, 2012
    112. 112. HDC / Making the world more active. MAKING THE WORLD MORE ACTIVE. ™ Hanson Dodge Creative is relentless about pushing the boundaries of engagement to deliver integrated solutions that work. ©Copyright Hanson Dodge Creative. All Rights Reserved.Thursday, February 16, 2012
    1. A particular slide catching your eye?

      Clipping is a handy way to collect important slides you want to go back to later.

    ×