January 14, 2011


Published on

Published in: Spiritual
  • Be the first to comment

  • Be the first to like this

No Downloads
Total Views
On Slideshare
From Embeds
Number of Embeds
Embeds 0
No embeds

No notes for slide

January 14, 2011

  1. 1. Living a Life of Grace and Virtue<br />Confirmation Preparation <br />January 14, 2010<br />Chapters 13-17<br />
  2. 2. What is Grace?<br />Grace is a supernatural gift from God. It is a share in God’s own divine life.<br />It is necessary for salvation.<br />We are born with original sin and therefore without grace.<br />There are different kinds of grace:<br />Sanctifying<br />Actual<br />Sacramental<br />
  3. 3. SANCTIFYING GRACE<br />ACTUAL GRACE<br />A supernatural gift which lives in our soul and makes us holy children of God.<br />It enables us to live in heaven.<br />The only way to lose this grace is through mortal or capital sin.<br />We get three supernatural virtues: faith, hope and charity.<br />Example: Baptism  this grace is increased with other sacraments.<br />The day-to-day help we need in order to do good and avoid evil. <br />They help us to treat other people with respect.<br />They show us how to live a good Christian life.<br />Examples: <br />The desire to read the Bible <br />The desire to pray<br />The urge to help someone in need or who is ill<br />
  4. 4. When we receive God’s grace, we become temples of the Holy Spirit, who comes to live within us. When the Spirit comes, he brings 3 virtues: <br />FAITH <br />HOPE<br />CHARITY/LOVE<br />A VIRTUE is a good habit that helps us to do good and avoid evil. <br />These are commonly known as the THEOLOGICAL VIRTUES.<br />
  5. 5. CROSS: faith <br />HEART: charity, love <br />ANCHOR: hope <br />
  6. 6. In Your Groups…<br />Each group has been given an envelope with three stories about three saints who are models of these virtues.<br />Saint Pio of Pietrelcina: Faith<br />Saint Clare: Hope<br />Saint Francis of Assisi: Charity/Love<br />Read through each story. Discuss.<br />Demonstrate your understanding of each virtue by coming up with a definition/description of the virtue on the paper provided.<br />Each group will post their responses for all to see.<br />
  7. 7. St. Pio – A Model of Faith<br />We believe in God and all that he has revealed to us.<br />
  8. 8. St. Clare – A Model of Hope<br />We trust in God and his promises.<br />
  9. 9. St. Francis of Assisi – A Model Charity<br />We love God above all things and we love our neighbours for love of God.<br />
  10. 10. Proving Our Love for God<br />There are other virtues we gain, mainly through practice, which become the foundation of a good life:<br />PRUDENCE<br />JUSTICE<br />TEMPERANCE<br />FORTITUDE<br />These are commonly known as the CARDINAL VIRTUES.<br />
  11. 11. In Your Groups:<br />Discuss the following and be prepared to share with whole group:<br />In what ways are the Cardinal Virtues the foundation of a good life?<br />
  12. 12. When We Abandon Virtue…<br />Vice: habits of doing bad; sinful habits<br />Capital/Mortal Sins: the root of all other sins <br />Pride<br />Avarice<br />Lust<br />Anger<br />Gluttony<br />Envy<br />Sloth<br />We can overcome these sins by practicing the opposing virtues.<br />
  13. 13. Overcoming Sin Through the Sacrament of Reconciliation<br />The “good news” of our salvation<br />In spite of turning away from God, we are reunited with him in friendship.<br />God does not abandon us when we sin.<br />The verbal confession of sins to a priest<br />repentance<br />intention<br />absolution<br />
  14. 14. The Seven Sacraments<br />Visible signs…<br />Actions performed by a priest (e.g. pouring water over the head, anointing with oil)<br />… given by Christ …<br />Jesus gave instructions to offer the sacraments to his followers<br />… to give grace.<br />God’s “free gift” of himself to us as the controlling influence in our lives to make good choices and commit to him in faith.<br />
  15. 15.
  16. 16. The Seven Sacraments<br />SACRAMENTS OF INITIATION:<br />Baptism, Eucharist, Confirmation<br />SACRAMENTS OF HEALING:<br />Penance/Reconciliation, Anointing of the Sick<br />SACRAMENTS OF SERVICE:<br />Matrimony, Holy Orders<br />
  17. 17. Sacramental Grace<br />The grace of the Holy Spirit given by Jesus Christ.<br />Sacraments increase the grace we already possess.<br />Confirmation, Eucharist, Holy Orders, Anointing of the Sick<br />
  18. 18. Reflection<br />Respond to the reflection question on the handout provided.<br />Hand in your reflection to your teacher before you leave.<br />Quite often, people express nervousness and anxiety over going to confession and argue that they can confess their sins to God in the privacy of their own home. Why is this not an option?<br />