Booster Seat Blitz (124)
Upcoming SlideShare
Loading in...5
×

Like this? Share it with your network

Share
  • Full Name Full Name Comment goes here.
    Are you sure you want to
    Your message goes here
    Be the first to comment
    Be the first to like this
No Downloads

Views

Total Views
213
On Slideshare
213
From Embeds
0
Number of Embeds
0

Actions

Shares
Downloads
0
Comments
0
Likes
0

Embeds 0

No embeds

Report content

Flagged as inappropriate Flag as inappropriate
Flag as inappropriate

Select your reason for flagging this presentation as inappropriate.

Cancel
    No notes for slide

Transcript

  • 1. Booster Seat BlitzMost parents assume child restraint laws apply only to infant and toddler age groups. Years ago, theydid. But, a new Colorado Child Passenger Safety Law now extends car seat or booster seatrequirements to all passengers 7-years-old and younger and also maps out requirements for childrenup to age 16.Previously, Colorado law required only children 5 years of age and younger to ride in car seats orbooster seats. But as of Sunday, Aug. 1, safety regulations encompass a much greater number ofyoung people riding in passenger vehicles.According to the Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment, car wrecks are the greatestcause of accident injury deaths for children between age 1 and 14. In an attempt to decrease thisstatistic, the states new passenger restraint guidelines address height and weight of child passengersto at least the same extent, if not more so, as the childs age.Because of the way automobiles are designed, a passengers height directly relates to how well avehicles lap and shoulder belts provide restraint during a car accident. A person whos 49" or taller istall enough to ride while wearing manufacturer-installed vehicle safety belts. Taking this intoconsideration, the Colorado Child Passenger Safety Law maps out the following guidelines:• A rear-facing car seat is required for children up to age 1 or up to the seat manufacturers maximum specified weight.• A rear or forward-facing car seat is required for children ages 1 to 3 or up to the seat manufacturers maximum specified weight.• A forward-facing car seat or booster seat is required for children ages 4 to 7 or up to 49" tall.• A booster seat or lap & shoulder belt is required for children up to age 16.Parents need to use the style of safety seats and manufacturer size limits to determine the bestmethod to safely restrain their children. Safety officials point out that only children who are noticeablylarger or smaller than average will not fall within the laws suggested safety guidelines.The new law makes it a primary offense for any passenger who is 16 years old or younger to rideunrestrained in a moving vehicle. This means law enforcement officers can pull over drivers for non-compliance with the new regulations, rather than citing the driver for non-compliance in the course ofa traffic stop for another offense.For one year, police will issue only warnings to vehicle operators not following the new law. BeginningAug. 1, 2011, tickets will be issued with a minimum $82 fine.It remains only a secondary offense for passengers 17 and older to ride unrestrained in a movingvehicle.To help parents determine the right seat for their children, fitting events are being held all over thestate of Colorado, beginning with Cheyenne Wells, Colorado Springs, Denver and Lakewood on Aug.5, 6 or 7. Booster Seat Blitz events are being held Aug. 13, 14 or 15 in Akron, Bayfield, Black Forest,Broomfield, Commerce City, Cortez, Delta, Denver, Eagle, Fort Collins, Grand Junction, Greeley,Ignacio, Lamar, Pueblo, and Silverton. Get location, schedule and activity information by visiting the
  • 2. CDOT Booster Blitz press release.Colorados Child Passenger Safety Law is part of the CDOT Integrated Safety Plan that aims todecrease traffic accidents and accident injuries within the State of Colorado by expanding safetypartnerships with government, law enforcement and vehicle safety education.fort collins dui