Why Whole Soy Vs Soy Isolate? If you have been eating nutrition bars or drinking protein drinks on your gluten-free diet that contains soy protein thinking that it is healthy for you then think again. Soy protein is just another way of saying soy isolate. So what exactly is soy isolate? Soy isolate is a product derived from separating or isolating the protein from the soy bean. In theory this sounds like a good think but on the contrary, nothing could be further from the truth. The method by which soy isolate is processed and manufactured involves acid washing it in aluminum tanks. As a result, it contains large amounts of aluminum. In addition, nitrites and chemical flavorings are often used to add flavor to the finished product. According to the American Dietetic Association, soy isolate contains anti-nutrients that can actually delay your body’s ability to digest food and absorb nutrients, a problem those of us with Celiac Disease or gluten intolerance deal with anyway. Whole soy on the other hand does not go through this process and as a result contains all the good which soy has to offer; loads of non-animal protein, fiber and omega 3 polyunsaturated fatty acids. It can lower cholesterol and is rich in bone-building calcium, zinc, magnesium and iron) without any of the bad stuff of soy isolate.
Many people who are gluten intolerant have issues with keeping up their blood sugar levels. It can be particularly difficult to fins gluten free food when traveling or during hectic days. Gluten-free nutrition bars are a good way solution for times when it is difficult to find something to eat. Packed into a purse, briefcase or glove box, they can make the difference between plummeting blood sugar levels or not. If you are looking for a good gluten-free nutrition bar, try SOYJOY nutrition bars. Unlike most other bars, they are made with WHOLE SOY, not soy isolate. For their bars, SOYJOY takes non-GMO (Genetically Modified Organism) soybeans, toasts them up and then grinds them into a a minimally processed powder. SOYJOY nutrition bars contain no trans fats or hydrogenated oils, no artificial colors or flavors and no gluten. What they do contain is nutritious whole soy and real fruit. With seven delicious flavors such as Pineapple, Banana, Blueberry, Strawberry, Mango Coconut, Berry, Apple Walnut, it is easy to find a flavor you like and can take along for the times when there are no gluten-free food offerings available at http://www.simplygluten-free.com About the Author I'm Carol Kicinski. A professional recipe developer, food writer and TV chef - and I do it all Gluten Free ! For a Gluten Free Diet . I create Gluten Free Recipes that are simple and healthy and not just "good for glutenfree" but just plain GOOD !
A particular slide catching your eye?
Clipping is a handy way to collect important slides you want to go back to later.