Evaluating a Startup's business model by "10x" technique

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    Evaluating a Startup's business model by "10x" technique - Presentation Transcript

      • Bryan Starbuck, CEO, [email_address]
      One Philosophy for running a Startup Company
      • Company Direction
      • Funding
      • Marketing
      Philosophy for Running a Startup Company “ 10x ”
      • achieving it will…
      • Easier to hire
      • Easier to receive funding
      Define a High Bar for your Startup
      • Your Grandma lives off of $1mil savings now in the Stock Market
      • Pick your Friend’s Startup
      • Would you advise her to invest $50k in your friends startup?
      The “ Grandma Test ”
      • 10x Philosophy is:
      • 10x Pain
      • 10x Solution
      • Financial Transaction
      • Scale Transactions
      Definition of “ 10x ”: Ten Times Better
    1. 10x Pain What is the large customer pain? Problem: Resumes are NOT ranked Only time to read 200 of 40,000 Job Boards return 40,000+ unranked resumes resumes
    2. 10x Solution How is the problem Solved? Fixed: Resumes are ranked Immediate access to BEST from millions
    3. Financial Transaction Show one financial transaction Customer Acquisition Cost: $x Price: $y Cost to Service: $z
    4. Scale Transactions How Many Transactions until Max? Market Size 78 mil Transactions My Market Size 10% of market Total Revenue: $x mil
    5. AoA Slides : Angel Check List With 10x, the other areas of your company need to be solid
    6. The Marketing Beast
    7. Conversion Rates Drop off rates RADICALLY drive up Customer-Acquisition-Costs Conversion Rate $1 per click (CPC) Create Account Create Account Free Account Create Account Task 2 Paid Account Landing Page $1.00 $4.00 Task 1 $8.00 $4.00 $20.00 $25.00
      • Not a Final Marketing Solution
      • Great for Beta 1
        • Iterate before you are perfected
        • WATCH OUT for VC Traction paradox
      • Full Solution if…
        • You can take 5+ years to grow & burn rate ~= $0
        • First to market in new segment
      Organic Growth
    8. Organic Growth is being hopeful… … Hope is Not a Strategy … founder, “ I need Marketing for Customers ” Reply, “ Your problem is upstream ” Famous Quote: -vs- -Tony Wright or Mark Mauder (?)
    9. Total Customer Acquisition Costs: $20/2 = $10 CAC Organic vs Paid Traffic $1 per click (CPC) Conversion Rate results in $20 CAC Organic Traffic 1-to-1 Word of Mouth
    10. Creating Businesses Key Steps 10x Pain 10x Solution
    11. Creating Businesses Key Steps 10x Pain 10x Solution Conversion Rates are Brutal Customer Acquisition Costs are often $20 to $100 Don’t under estimate this impact in your business model

    + Bryan StarbuckBryan Starbuck, 1 month ago

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