Quantify Your ROI to Customers at BlogHer '13

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Quantify Your ROI to Customers at BlogHer '13

https://www.blogher.com/quantify-your-roi-customers

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  • Level set: This session is for content creators already working in partnership with brand and agencies, and you want to expand that business or put a finer point on existing work. If you’re not on the right plane, it’s OK to disembark. There’s a 101 session next door.Buckle up, we’re going to talk numbers and math, among other things. Our journey ends with lunch! I will totally hang out if people have 1:1 questions.IntroductionIf any unresolved questions, will answer on Twitter post-sessionWhy the agency perspective is important to the discussionWhat are attendees hoping to learn today? Whiteboard, if available
  • How many have been in this situation? What did you say? Discussion
  • Demographic: Female, 25-34, Southeastern U.S.Psychographic: Connected mom with 2 kids younger than 3rd grade, lives with her smartphone in her hand. Persona: We’ll call her Jenn.
  • Whether you agree with this type of profiling or not, this is what brands and agencies are looking at.Be ready to express the value of your community in similar terms.Articulating the core values of your community would be a great start.Is your community about value, willing to try new things, or more interested staying with the tried and true products in your category?Has anyone encountered this situation and would like to share their experience?
  • Any data – that means you can select what is the most meaningful for your community or your sponsored programOften referred to as curated metrics or curated dataImpressions: Always the biggest #Reach: Always a lesser #Engagement: Holy grail for marketers because these are the actions users take. Some brands apply a multiplier or a weighted score to engagement.CPA: Understand acquisition in the context of your programSentiment: Quantitative or qualitativeThat’s a lot of information – questions?
  • Marketers are assuming a relationship between your uniques and the actions your users take, like CTs to content or CTRs to their site, landing page or promotionEnvision: Uniques coming to your community, then go one level deeper, then they may click through to a brand’s site, landing page or promotion based on what they findDiscussion of referral traffic from sponsored influencer Example of GA taggingBit.ly retains GA tagging
  • This is what would be expected of a media organizationYour metrics reporting may not be this detailed, but you do need to know your way around the numbersIf you are part of a larger ad network, understand how they are reporting #s from ads or sponsored content on your siteCalc examples on CR and CTRKnow your averages
  • This was part of a larger program that included contextual ad placements with the sponsored contentThere was a guarantee of impressions and a budget attachedDiscussion of value pricing
  • Adding insights about what worked and recommendations will help you build a long-term relationship with that brandThere is an accompanying panel on this topic as part of this track for those who are interested
  • We could do a CPA calculation on this as well. That would be times 100, not times 1000.
  • For those with graphic design skillzAdvantage: Your contact cuts and pastes into their report
  • Individual program numbers almost always get aggregated up to a larger viewHow an agency reports metrics – sample social media dashboard based on a specific period of timeClickthroughs are key – what’s most popular among my tagged links? What are my biggest sources of clickthroughs? Sales funnel impressions – reach - engagement
  • Sign up for a free account, but it has a limited time rangeMost blogs would probably want to be in the $84-$149/month range for paid serviceBuild the cost into your sponsorships because analytics are expected
  • By far, the best practice is to have your own bit.ly account.
  • Now all you have to do is add a slide with your specific proposal, and you have a fairly complete package
  • Platform: Will this contest run on your community, your Facebook page, or are you driving to a brand page? Administrator: This is the person legally responsible for the contest. If it’s you, make sure you’re covered and comfortable with that. Prize cost and fulfillment: Who is providing the prizes and shipping them? Terms and conditions: The legal document that governs the contest. Who is providing this? How will it be made publicly available? Indemnify: To compensate for loss or damageThe best scenario is to design activities that result in referral traffic to the brand’s contest, often that’s Facebook or Pinterest these days.
  • Contracts should be as specific as possibleWe use a standard contract and then add a very specific addendum that lists the agreed-upon activities and timeframe
  • “Sure, I’ve been having great success with driving referral traffic from sample offers.” “Absolutely, I’ve got a great product review program that gets a high level of positive sentiment from my community.” “Yes, I just invested in growing my Twitter community, and I can achieve a really competitive CPM for my partners.”
  • Q&A
  • Quantify Your ROI to Customers at BlogHer '13

    1. 1. Quantify Your ROI to Customers
    2. 2. #BH13ROI INTERNET SSID: BlogHer | No Password Required Quantify Your ROI to Customers JULIE YAMAMOTO CMD, @JulieY INSTRUCTOR
    3. 3. #BH13ROI INTERNET SSID: BlogHer | No Password Required A likely scenario … • Brand X is introducing a new widget, and they want a social tactic that will go “viral.” • Brand X’s agency sells an “influencer strategy” and gets some budget to work with. • Brand X’s agency contacts you: “We saw your sponsored content and love it. Want to work with us on our campaign?” • And you say …
    4. 4. #BH13ROI INTERNET SSID: BlogHer | No Password Required Know your audience targeting • Demographic: Gender, age, geography • Psychographic: Behavioral information that deepens our understanding of the audience • Persona: Named individual who personifies the target
    5. 5. #BH13ROI INTERNET SSID: BlogHer | No Password Required
    6. 6. #BH13ROI INTERNET SSID: BlogHer | No Password Required Metrics that matter • Metrics or analytics: Any data that shows marketing performance • Impressions: Opportunity to view content • Reach: Individual users or social accounts reached by content • Engagement: User actions, such as clicks, likes, comments • CPM: Cost per 1,000 impressions • CPA: Cost per acquisition or sign up • Sentiment: Expressed as positive, negative or neutral, may be reported in a quantitative or qualitative manner
    7. 7. #BH13ROI INTERNET SSID: BlogHer | No Password Required Know your key metrics • Unique visitors: Expressed by day, week or month • Clickthroughs (CTs): User clicks on a specific call to action (CTA) • Click rate (CR) = Clicks to your content / Impressions x 100 .20% considered baseline/good • Clickthrough rate (CTR) = Clicks to brand / clicks to your content x 100 10% is highly desirable • Link tagging: Links with analytics tracking built in to the URL
    8. 8. #BH13ROI INTERNET SSID: BlogHer | No Password Required Overall Campaign Performance Total Impressions 1,785,423 Total Clicks 14092 Average Click Rate 0.79% Total Click-Throughs 1393 Average CTR 9.89% Average Time Spent (sec) 121 Total Time Spent (sec) 1704678 Total Shares 205 Total Video Views 3,901 Total Budget $22,690.00 Total Spend to date $17,854.23 CPA (representative of Click-Throughs to site) $12.82
    9. 9. #BH13ROI INTERNET SSID: BlogHer | No Password Required Know where you fit in the sales funnel Awareness Interest Consideration Preference “Unboxing,” contests Metrics: Impressions, reach Sampling, couponing Metric: Engagement Head-to-head product trial Metric: Engagement, clickthroughs to brand site Exclusive offers, bundles Metric: Sales, CPA, sentiment
    10. 10. #BH13ROI INTERNET SSID: BlogHer | No Password Required Key elements of your proposal • Introduce yourself and your community • What works well for you (examples) • What you plan to do, specifically • Measurable metrics that are expected • Cost
    11. 11. #BH13ROI INTERNET SSID: BlogHer | No Password Required Sample influencer proposal • Program Concept: Select 4 Influencers who reach the target (two from the Connected Mom target and two from the Steady Mom target) to participate in the "Creating Memories with your Child" Influencer Activation program. • Participating Influencers will each be given the product to use in their homes. They will create highly pinnable post with DIY tutorials with video (not professionally produced, most probably with their iPhones). • Reader Engagement: The selected Influencers will include a call-to-action within the post to drive readers to the brand site (or any other destination based on client feedback) and to promote in-store traffic. • Audience Activation: To further engage their readers, each Influencer will pose a question at the end of her post (example: "How do you inspire creativity with your child?") to encourage readers to comment for a chance to win a sweepstakes prize.
    12. 12. #BH13ROI INTERNET SSID: BlogHer | No Password Required Key elements of your recap report Mandatory: • What you plan to do, specifically  What you did • Measurable metrics that are expected  Actual performance • Cost  ROI expressed as CPM or CPA, for example Recommended: • What tactic was the most successful and why • Other influencers who shared campaign content • Recommendations for next time
    13. 13. #BH13ROI INTERNET SSID: BlogHer | No Password Required Sample recap report Published a total of 17 tweets from July 5-11 during a giveaway • Total impressions: 390,200 • Twitter giveaway impressions: 242,800 • Total giveaway entries: 210 What’s the CPM? • CPM = (Cost of 1 Unit of a Media Program) / (Size of Media Program's Audience) x 1,000 • CPM = $2,000 / 390,200 x 1,000 • CPM = $5.12
    14. 14. #BH13ROI INTERNET SSID: BlogHer | No Password Required Sample recap report
    15. 15. #BH13ROI INTERNET SSID: BlogHer | No Password Required Sample recap report
    16. 16. #BH13ROI INTERNET SSID: BlogHer | No Password Required
    17. 17. #BH13ROI INTERNET SSID: BlogHer | No Password Required Tool try-outs 1. Browse to Tweetreach.com 2. Enter a hashtag – try #BlogHer13 or another you like 3. Sign in with your Twitter account
    18. 18. #BH13ROI INTERNET SSID: BlogHer | No Password Required Tweetreach
    19. 19. #BH13ROI INTERNET SSID: BlogHer | No Password Required Tool try-outs 1. Open a browser window 2. Paste any bit.ly link and add a + sign at the end of the URL 3. Enter to see # of CTs on the link, as reported by bit.ly Try bit.ly/1aaEAqE
    20. 20. #BH13ROI INTERNET SSID: BlogHer | No Password Required Recommended Wordpress Plug Ins • Google Analytics Tutorial: http://youtu.be/mm78xlsADgc Discussion: http://www.blogher.com/google-analytics-you • Native WordPress analytics • Intermediate: Select a comment analytics tool • Advanced: AWStats as a backup - AWStats is a server log analyzer and a good last resort if something goes wrong with Google.
    21. 21. #BH13ROI INTERNET SSID: BlogHer | No Password Required Preparing to work with brands • Put your bio, audience targeting and key community metrics in a PPT file, ready to share • Add a slide profiling a previous, successful campaign as an example • Sketch out your common community activities and where they fit in the funnel • Identify your top 3 activities that garner the most engagement in our community
    22. 22. #BH13ROI INTERNET SSID: BlogHer | No Password Required A few words about contests … Pay attention to: • Platform • Contest administrator • Prize cost and fulfillment • Terms and Conditions • Indemnification
    23. 23. #BH13ROI INTERNET SSID: BlogHer | No Password Required Savvy questions you should ask • Do you view this as an awareness program, or do you want to work with audiences who are farther down the sales funnel? • Is a contest part of the program? • What’s your list of SEO keywords, so I can optimize my content? • Are you going to provide me with tagged links? • How frequently do you need metrics reports? What format? • What does success look like to you? • Your contract or mine?
    24. 24. #BH13ROI INTERNET SSID: BlogHer | No Password Required A likely scenario … • Brand X is introducing a new widget, and they want a social tactic that will go “viral.” • Brand X’s agency sells an “influencer strategy” and gets some budget to work with. • Brand X’s agency contacts you: “We saw your sponsored content and love it. Want to work with us on our campaign?” • And you say …
    25. 25. #BH13ROI INTERNET SSID: BlogHer | No Password Required Quantify Your ROI to Customers JULIE YAMAMOTO CMD, @JulieY INSTRUCTOR
    26. 26. “BlogHer is a snake meal of ideas in a wonton wrapper of love. Afterwards you need a 2- day nap, then it nourishes you for a year.” – @debontherocks

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