Advanced Social Media for Authors - Writer's Digest 2014

1,190 views
1,050 views

Published on

This is the slide deck from my August 2014 Presentation on "Advanced Social Media for Authors" at Writer's Digest. It includes elements of best practices for maintaining a successful social media strategy, as well as a solid round-up of tools and resources.

Published in: Business
2 Comments
1 Like
Statistics
Notes
No Downloads
Views
Total views
1,190
On SlideShare
0
From Embeds
0
Number of Embeds
102
Actions
Shares
0
Downloads
17
Comments
2
Likes
1
Embeds 0
No embeds

No notes for slide

Advanced Social Media for Authors - Writer's Digest 2014

  1. 1. ADVANCED SOCIAL MEDIA FOR AUTHORS What Works, What Doesn’t, And How to Manage It All Kristen McLean Writer’s Digest 2014
  2. 2. Kristen McLean Founder & CEO, Bookigee HELLO!
  3. 3. MYTH #1 You HAVE to be using (EVERY) Social Media Platform
  4. 4. MYTH #2 Growing your social media following will bring you FAME
  5. 5. MYTH #3 A BIG Social Media following will SELL more books
  6. 6. WHAT SOCIAL MEDIA IS Social Media is a set of TOOLS to accomplish a GOAL that starts with a STRATEGY
  7. 7. THE KEY TO SUCCESS AUTHENTICITY
  8. 8. WHAT SOCIAL DOES BEST #1 Facilitate 1-to-1 Communication
  9. 9. WHAT SOCIAL DOES BEST #2 Amplify a message
  10. 10. SLOW & STEADY WINS THE RACE Be systematic, patient, and realistic
  11. 11. THE 5 PRACTICES Bulk Schedule outbound communications Create & regularly maintain Facebook/LinkedIn contact lists Create/maintain Twitter lists by genre/interest Participate in online “chats” in your area of expertise Schedule regular time to “fill-up the tank”
  12. 12. GET ORGANIZED The key to a successful and manageable social media strategy is good systems
  13. 13. PICK YOUR PLATFORMS Blog – or – Tumblr Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Instagram Pinterest Do you want a brand organizer also? Try Flavors.me
  14. 14. PICK A SCHEDULING TOOL
  15. 15. SETUP CONTACT LISTS IN FACEBOOK/LINKEDIN
  16. 16. SETUP THEMATIC TWITTER LISTS
  17. 17. PLAN SOME “EVERGREEN” POSTS
  18. 18. TRACK “INTERESTINGNESS”
  19. 19. 5 PRACTICES BY DAY MON - 20 min: schedule tweets/posts thru Friday TUES - 15 min: build Twitter lists| 5 min: add tweets WED - 15 min: confirm/groups new FB friends (+tweet) THURS - 15 min: participate in a live Twitter “chat” (+tweet) FRI- 20 min (or more): read 1 new article “for curiosity” EVERYDAY - “be thankful”
  20. 20. SLOW & STEADY WINS THE RACE Be systematic, patient, and realistic
  21. 21. TOOL SOCIAL MEDIA ANALYSIS ! Mention - https://en.mention.com/ Use it to monitor & respond to all social media channels around a particular account or subject   Followerwonk - https://followerwonk.com/ Search Twitter for users by theme & social authority   Fanpage Karma - http://www.fanpagekarma.com/ Monitor or compare stats on an unlimited number of Facebook fan pages   Round Team - https://roundteam.co/ Allows you to set filters to auto-RT content    Twitonomy - http://www.twitonomy.com/
  22. 22. TOOL Tools For Building Twitter Tweepi - http://tweepi.com/dashboard Tweet Adder - http://www.tweetadder.com/ Automatic tools that build twitter followings fast (must be used carefully!) ! Reading & Discovering New Stuff Currents - http://www.google.com/producer/currents FlipBoard - http://flipboard.com/ Zite - http://zite.com/ You MUST make regular time to read & find new material outside the “stream” ! Email & Contact Management Mail Chimp - http://mailchimp.com/ Constant Contact - http://www.constantcontact.com/ Great off the shelf tools for managing contacts (and communication campaigns)
  23. 23. TOOL Collecting the Feedback & Numbers Google Alerts - http://www.google.com/alerts Topsy - http://topsy.com/ Peek Analytics - https://www.peekanalytics.com/ Facebook Insights - www.facebook.com/insights/ Nutshell Mail - https://nutshellmail.com/ ! Organizing your Brand Flavors - http://flavors.me/ !
  24. 24. THANKS! ! Kristen McLean @BKGKristen kristen@bookigee.com

×