Australian Hellenic community NSW regional north


Published on

Profile of the Australian Hellenic community in the Federal electorates of regional northern NSW.

Published in: News & Politics
  • Be the first to comment

  • Be the first to like this

No Downloads
Total views
On SlideShare
From Embeds
Number of Embeds
Embeds 0
No embeds

No notes for slide

Australian Hellenic community NSW regional north

  1. 1. The Australian Hellenic community by Federal Electorate (regional northernNew South Wales)A presentation developed by Dr Panayiotis DiamadisAHC (NSW) SecretaryJuly 2010<br />
  2. 2. Η Αυστραλιανή Ελληνική παροικία ανά Ομοσπονδιακή εκλογική περιφέριεα(βόρεια <br />Νέα Νοτίου Ουαλία)<br />Μία παρουσίαση του <br />Δρ Παναγιώτη Διαμάντη, Γραμματέας, Αυστραλιανό Ελληνικό Συμβούλιο ΝΝΟ<br />Ιούλιος 2010<br />
  3. 3. Introduction<br />This presentation is designed as a “map” of the Australian Hellenic community. It records community organisations according to the Federal electoral divisions they are located in.<br />In particular in the case with churches, parishes do not neatly fit within electoral boundaries. They draw parishioners from a broad geographical region. While the church building may be in a particular seat, the worshippers are drawn from a number of neighbouring seats.<br />
  4. 4. Εισαγωγή<br />Η παρουσίαση αυτή είναι μιάς μορφής «χάρτης» της Αυστραλιανής Ελληνικής παροικίας. Καταγράφει τους παροικιακούς οργανισμούς σύμφωνα με την Ομοσπονδιακή εκλογική περιφέρεια στην οποία βρίσκονται.<br />Στην περίπτωση των εκκλησιών, οι ενορίες δεν ταιρίαζουν με με τα σύνορα των εκλογικών περιφερειών. Προσελκύουν τους πιτσούς από μία ευρύ γεωγραφική περιοχή.Επομένος, μπορεί να βρίσκετε μία εκκλησία σε κάποια έδρα,οι πιστοί όμως έρχονται από διάφορες γειτονικές έδρες.<br />
  5. 5. There are a number of purposes in creating these presentations. Firstly, to document where the Australian Hellenic community operates, where it is active.<br />
  6. 6. Υπάρχουν διάφοροι λόγοι για τους οποίους δημιουργήθηκαν οι παρουσιασεις αυτές. Πρώτον, να καταγράψουμε που δραστηριοποιείται η Αυστραλιανή Ελληνική παροικία. Σε ποιά μέρη της Αυστραλίας.<br />
  7. 7. Secondly, to document where the Australian Hellenic community lives. Statistics such as language, religion and birthplace offer some reliable indications. Mapping Australian Hellenic community institutions add another dimension to this data.<br />: Clusters of “Greek-born” residents of Sydney.<br />
  8. 8. Δεύτερον, να καταγραφεί που ζει η Αυστραλιανή Ελληνική παροικία. Οι στατιστικές περί γλώσσας, θρησκείας και τόπος γεννήσεως προσφέρουν αρκετά αξιόλογα στοιχεία. Η καταγραφή των ιδρυμάτων της Αυστραλιανής Ελληνικής παροικίας προσθέτει μία ακόμη διάσταση στα στοιχεία αυτά.<br />Περιοχές του Σύδνεϋ όπου ζουν άτομα γεννημένα στην Ελλάδα.<br />
  9. 9. Thirdly, to demonstrate how diverse and active the Australian Hellenic community is, present in urban centres as well as regional ones across the country. Below: St Nikolaos Orthodox Church, Coober Pedy, South Australia (middle of map).<br />
  10. 10. Τρίτον, να αποδείξουμε το πόσο δραστήρια είναι η Αυστραλιανή Ελληνική παροικία. Έχει παρουσία τόσο στα αστικά κέντρα όσο και σε άλλες περιοχές σε ολόκληρη την χώρα. Κάτω:Η εκκλησία του Αγίου Νικολάου στο Coober Pedy της Νοτίου Αυστραλίας. (κέντρο του χάρτη)<br />
  11. 11. The intended audiences of these presentations are equally diverse:<br /><ul><li>the Australian Hellenic community itself;
  12. 12. the Federal, regional and local political leaderships of Australia;
  13. 13. the governments of the Hellenic Republic and the Republic of Cyprus;
  14. 14. researchers of Australian Hellenism.</li></ul>On behalf of the Australian Hellenic Council (NSW), I hope you find these presentations interesting and useful in equal measure.<br />Dr Panayiotis Diamadis<br />AHC (NSW) Secretary<br />
  15. 15. Οι παρουσιάσεις δημιουργήθηκαν για:<br /><ul><li>την ίδια την Αυστραλιανή Ελληνική παροικία
  16. 16. τις πολιτικές ηγεσίες της Αυστραλίας σε ομοσπονδιακό, περιφερειακό και τοπικό επίπεδο
  17. 17. τις κυβερνήσεις της Ελληνικής Δημοκρατίας και της Κυπριακής Δημοκρατίας
  18. 18. τους ερευνητές του Αυστραλιώτη Ελληνισμού.</li></ul>Εκ μέρους του Αυστραλιανού Ελληνικού Συμβουλίου Νέας Νοτίου ουαλίας, ελπίζω να βρίσκετε τις παρουσιάσεις αυτές εξ ίσου ενδιαφέρουσες όσο και χρήσιμες.<br />Δρ Παναγιώτης Διαμάντης<br />Γραμματέας<br />Αυστραλιανό Ελληνικό Συμβούλιο (ΝΝΟ)<br />
  19. 19. Electoral Division of Charlton<br />
  20. 20. The Hon Greg Combet, AM<br />ALP<br />Minister Assisting the Minister for Climate Change and Energy Efficiency<br />Minister for Defence Materiel and Science<br />Office: Cardiff<br />E:<br />
  21. 21. Electoral Division of Cowper<br />
  22. 22. Mr Luke Hartsuyker<br />The Nationals <br />Office: Coffs Harbour<br />E:<br />
  23. 23. Electoral Division of Dobell<br />
  24. 24. Mr Craig Thomson<br />ALP <br />Office: Tuggerah<br />E:<br />
  25. 25.
  26. 26. Electoral Division of Hunter<br />
  27. 27. The Hon Joel Fitzgibbon<br />Party: ALP<br />Office: Cessnock<br />
  28. 28. Electoral Division of Lyne<br />
  29. 29. Mr Robert Oakeshott<br />Independent<br />Offices: Port Macquarie/Taree<br />E:<br />
  30. 30. Electoral Division of Macquarie<br />
  31. 31. The Hon Bob Debus<br />ALP<br />Offices: Katoomba /Bathurst<br />
  32. 32. Orthodox Monastery of St GeorgeYellow Rock <br />
  33. 33. Electoral Division of New England<br />
  34. 34. Mr Tony Windsor<br />Independent<br />Offices: Tamworth/ Inverell<br />E:<br />
  35. 35. St Demetrios Orthodox Church, corner Upper and North Streets, Tamworth<br />
  36. 36. Electoral Division of Newcastle<br />
  37. 37. Ms Sharon Grierson <br />ALP <br />Office: 427 Hunter Street, Newcastle<br />
  38. 38. Holy Apostles Orthodox Church and Community Centre corner James and Steel Streets, Hamilton<br />
  39. 39. Hippocrates Nursing Home (Property of the Holy Apostles Orthodox Church, Hamilton)<br />
  40. 40. St Demetrios Orthodox Church 54 Skelton Street, Hamilton<br />
  41. 41. Electoral Division of Page<br />
  42. 42. Ms Janelle Saffin<br />Labor Party<br />Office: Lismore<br />E:<br />
  43. 43. Electoral Division of Parkes<br />
  44. 44. Mr Mark Coulton<br />Offices: Dubbo/Moree<br />E:<br />
  45. 45. Our Lady of Myrtles Orthodox Church, corner Roper and Gipps Streets, Dubbo <br />
  46. 46. Electoral Division of Paterson<br />
  47. 47. The Hon Bob Baldwin<br />Liberal Party<br />Raymond Terrace<br />E:<br />
  48. 48. Electoral Division of Richmond<br />
  49. 49. The Hon Justine Elliot <br />ALP<br />Minister for Ageing<br />Office: Tweed Heads South<br />
  50. 50. Electoral Division of Robertson<br />
  51. 51. Ms Belinda Neal<br />Labor Party <br />Office: Gosford<br />E:<br />
  52. 52. St Dionysios Orthodox ChurchR.M.B. 1639 Nurses Road, Central Mangrove<br />
  53. 53.
  54. 54.
  55. 55. Electoral Division of Shortland<br />
  56. 56. Ms Jill Hall<br />Party: ALP<br />Government Whip<br />Office: Belmont<br />E:<br />