Pennsylvania law

143 views
116 views

Published on

Published in: Health & Medicine
0 Comments
0 Likes
Statistics
Notes
  • Be the first to comment

  • Be the first to like this

No Downloads
Views
Total views
143
On SlideShare
0
From Embeds
0
Number of Embeds
1
Actions
Shares
0
Downloads
1
Comments
0
Likes
0
Embeds 0
No embeds

No notes for slide

Pennsylvania law

  1. 1. Virtue, Liberty, and Independence
  2. 2.  12.7 million people 6th Most populous state 170 miles x 283 miles Ruffed Grouse White Tailed Deer Eastern Hemlock Mountain Laurel
  3. 3.  Founded 1638 67 counties 28.5 % German Ancestry 80% Christian 18th largest economy inworld Largest private employeris Walmart 51.8% registeredDemocratic
  4. 4.  Capital: Harrisburg Commonwealth Governor: Tom Corbett (R) U.S. Senators Bob Casey (D) Pat Toomey (R) 18 Representatives in theU.S. House U.S. 3rd District Mike Kelly (R)
  5. 5.  It is illegal to sell tobacco to people under 18 It is NOT illegal for someone under 18 tosmoke, possess tobacco As long as you don’t lie about your age § 6305. Sale of tobacco (a) Offense defined.--A person is guilty ofa summary offense if he:1. sells tobacco, in any form, to any minorunder the age of 18 years; 2. by purchase, gift or othermeans, furnishes tobacco, in any form, to a minor under the age of18 years; or 3. knowingly and falsely represents himself to be 18years of age or older to another for the purpose of procuring orhaving furnished to him tobacco in any form.(b) Penalty.--A personwho violates this section shall, upon conviction, be sentenced topay a fine of not less than $25 for a first offense and not less than$100 for a subsequent offense.
  6. 6.  Must be 21 to consume/purchase alcohol Liquor stores are run by the state (prices are the samethroughout) Beer must be sold through beer distributors, bars,restaurants, or beer stores You can serve alcohol at 18 DUI is a .08% BAC (6 beers within 4 hours) Resturants and bars MUST close by 2 a.m. No Underage Drinking allowed*
  7. 7.  1.) 29 states allow on private property with parentalconsent 2.) 6 states allow without parental consent 3.) 25 states allow for religious purposes 4.) 16 states allow for medical purposes 5.) 4 states allow for governmental related work 6.) 7 states allow educational purposes (culinary school) 7.) 4 states allow for reporting a minor drinking formedical reasons 8.) 11 states allow drinking on alcohol selling premiseswith parental consent
  8. 8.  12:01 a.m. – 5:00 a.m. Monday – Friday Minor (under 17) Except for: Emergency With Parent Errand for Parent Employment Sidewalk in front of house Interstate travel School activity First Amendment rights
  9. 9.  10:00 p.m. – 6:00 a.m. Sunday – Thursday (School)12:00 Friday’s and Saturday’s 12:01 a.m. – 6:00 a.m. Sunday – Friday (Summer) Minor (under 18) First probably a warning Then it’s a fine Starting at $25.oo Class 4 Misdemeanor If Parents knowingly let children go… $500.00 90 days in jail
  10. 10.  Under 18… 6 points or 26 mph over the speed limit = 90 day suspension First time above 6 points Written exam about driving practices, departmentsanctions, and related safety issues 2nd Time and 3rd time above 6 points PennDOT department hearing with 15 day suspension Exorbitant Speed Above by 31 mphs Mandatory hearing
  11. 11.  Not stopping at a red light: 3 points Ignoring a flashing red light: 3 points Improper passing: 3 points Tailgating: 3 Not stopping for a school bus with flashing red lights: 5 points and 60-day Exceeding the speed limit by six to 10 mph: 2 points Exceeding the speed limit by 11 to 15 mph: 3 points Exceeding the speed limit by 16 to 25 mph: 4 points Exceeding the speed limit by 26 to 30 mph: 5 points Exceeding the speed limit by 31 mph or more: 5 points, and possibleother penalties as determined by a hearing examiner Not yielding to pedestrian in crosswalk: 2 points Careless driving: 3 points Leaving the scene of an accident that results in property damage: 4points

×