• Share
  • Email
  • Embed
  • Like
  • Save
  • Private Content
Indian Emblem A Sublime Mascot

Indian Emblem A Sublime Mascot






Total Views
Views on SlideShare
Embed Views



1 Embed 3

http://www.slideshare.net 3


Upload Details

Uploaded via as Microsoft PowerPoint

Usage Rights

© All Rights Reserved

Report content

Flagged as inappropriate Flag as inappropriate
Flag as inappropriate

Select your reason for flagging this presentation as inappropriate.


11 of 1 previous next

  • Full Name Full Name Comment goes here.
    Are you sure you want to
    Your message goes here
Post Comment
Edit your comment

    Indian Emblem A Sublime Mascot Indian Emblem A Sublime Mascot Presentation Transcript

    • A Swang Communication/A’bad Presentation Indian Emblem A Sublime Mascot
      • Indian Emblem is the pride and honor of the country.
      • It represents the prestige and reflects the unmatched
      • power of India since Independence.
      • It portrays as a gesture of a sublime mascot of India,
      • symbolizing the glorious civilization and unforgettable
      • history.
      • Being a common yet inimitable national symbol of India,
      • the emblem influences the Indian image through
      • unstoppable spirit and valor.
      • The emblem after all always expresses the originality
      • and authenticity of the country. And Indian Emblem
      • is all about it.
    • The Emblem of India is an adaptation from the ‘ Sarnath Lion Capital of Ashoka.’ The Lion Capital was erected in the third century BC by Emperor Ashoka to mark the spot where Buddha first proclaimed his gospel of peace and emancipation to the four quarters of the Universe. The National emblem is thus symbolic of contemporary India's reaffirmation of its ancient commitment to world peace and goodwill. Lion of Sarnath is found near Varnasi, in Uttar Pradesh. The slogan/motto below the emblem “ Satyameva Jayate” means “truth alone triumphs”. Origin
      • In the original there are four Asiatic lions, standing
      • back to back, mounted on a circular abacus with
      • a frieze carrying sculptures in high relief of an
      • elephant, a galloping horse, a bull and a lion
      • separated by intervening Dharmachakra or Ashoka
      • Chakra wheels over a bell-shaped lotus. It was
      • carved out of a single block of polished sandstone.
      • The version used as the Emblem does not include
      • the fourth lion (since it is hidden from view at the
      • rear) or the bell-shaped lotus flower beneath. The
      • frieze beneath the lions is shown with the Dharma
      • Chakra in the center, a bull on the right and a
      • galloping horse on the left, and outlines of Dharma
      • Chakras on the extreme right and left
    • © Copyright- SWANG COMMUNICATION / Ahmedabad
    • The four lions (one hidden from view) – symbolizing power, courage and confidence – rest on a circular abacus. The abacus is girded by four smaller animals - guardians of the four directions: the lion of the north, the elephant of the east, the horse of the south and the bull of the west. The abacus rests on a lotus in full bloom, exemplifying the fountainhead of life and creative inspiration. Forming an integral part of the Emblem is the motto inscribed below the abacus in Devanagari script: Satyameva Jayate सत्यमेव जयते (English: Truth Alone Triumphs ). This is a quote from Mundaka Upanishad, the concluding part of the sacred Hindu Vedas. Significance
      • It was adopted as the National Emblem of India
      • on 26 January 1950, the day that India became a
      • Republic.
      • The emblem forms a part of the official letterhead
      • of the Government of India, and appears on all
      • Indian currency as well. It also sometimes functions
      • as the national emblem of India in many places
      • and appears prominently on the diplomatic and
      • national Passport of the Republic of India. The
      • wheel "Ashoka Chakra" from its base has been
      • placed onto the center of the National Flag of India.
    • Lion Capital was originally placed atop the Aśoka pillar at Sarnath, now in the state of Uttar Pradesh, India. The pillar, sometimes called the Aśoka Columnis still in its original location, but the Lion Capital is now in the Sarnath Museum. The capital was believed to be crowned by a 'Wheel of Dharma' ( Dharmachakra popularly known in India as the "Ashoka Chakra"), which has now been lost. There is a similar intact Ashoka pillar in Thailand with a similar four lion capital intact and crowned with Ashoka Chakra / Dharmachakra. History
      • The base of the Ashoka pillar in Sarnath which
      • was broken during Turk Islamic invasions, it
      • was originally surmounted by the "Lion Capital
      • of Ashoka" which is presently at display at
      • the Sarnath Museum. This particular Lion
      • Capital of Ashoka, originally atop this pillar in
      • Sarnath has been adopted as the
      • "National Emblem of India" .
    • “ A Sublime Mascot” Truly a
    • Indian Emblem
    • Thank you!
    • By: Kapil K. Kella Swang Communication Ahmedabad